Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lakewood Creek Elementary

Public | K-5 | 771 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2012

My son has been a student here for 2 years. I am very pleased with this school. His kindergarten and 1st grade teachers recognized my sons special needs. As a result, my son received early intervention, which was provided by the school , in reading and speech. He is now reading above grade level. Also, his speech and, as a result, his spelling has greatly improved. I appreciate the efforts of the staff more than words can express.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2012

To reply to comments on 5/26 & 7/24, I am extremely involved with my children and have the same problem. One of them also has special needs. This year his teacher is fantastic. She is patient and understanding of my child. His report card is also fantastic. We spend hours every night at home helping him with any homework and or schoolwork he didn not finish. My wife has been helping at the shcool since our 1st child started Kindergarten. From what my son tells me, he is not the only one that has been singled out over the years. The school has really gotten on him as he is different. He is passionate and vocal. Sometimes that is what gets him in trouble. A great percentage of the staff does not know how to work with him to fit in. Instead, they single him out. The help we do get from the social worker and teacher is a dream come true. However, it takes a village to raise a child. We as parents, are not at school to be able to handle everything that our chld does wrong. We rely on the school to act accordingly and handle a child who is different. Their actions are questionable at best. Good luck if your child is different!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2011

I have three kids that attend Lakewood Creek. I have been involved as a parent helper and am impressed with the school and teachers. One of my children receives services for a hearing impairment and I had one that was put in the reading program. I do not agree with the statement that the school does not care unless your children are gifted or doing well. I beleive that you need to be an involved parent and an advocate for your children. Because of these things my children have been very successful at Lakewood Creek
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

My 2 youngest children went here,then on to Traughber. We live right down the block from the school, so I was heavily involved as a volunteer. The teachers are young, but dedicated and have fresh ideas to help the children along. There are no disciplinary problems here because of the consistency across grades and cooperation of parents. Classes are a little large, but it really had no effect on the quality of the education my children received here. Local parents are, in general, really nice, down-to-earth people. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

I have 2 children in Lakewood Creek and have had very good experiences with the school. They have plenty of activities for the kids and really focus on importance of skills such as reading. The teachers have been very personable and hands-on with the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

Needless to say, LCE intructors are doing a great job!!! My seven year old boy has transitioned smoothly from a Montessori based institution since 18 months of age to Mrs. Naegale first grade class. They have reconized my son's abilities early on and after the firs quarter he was placed into Advanced Reading. They are constantly challenging him to think outside his confort zone to draw his attention to continued learning with challenge words and home-based linked exercises. Our pre-school daughter can't wait for first grade at LCE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

I have been a Lakewood Creek parent for 6 years now (K-5th) and have nothing but positive remarks, feelings and emotions for this school and the wonderful staff...all staff from A - Z. They have many extracurricular activities (after school programs and student/family events) and the cost are sooo reasonable. Depending onthe event, Free - $60. Excellent!!! The communication between the staff and parents is excellent! I know this first-hand and have been told this from many many other parents. My son (9) absolutely loves getting up and going to school each day, pretty rare for a energetic, playful 9yr. old boy!! My 5th grader has always loved school, thanks very much to the staff and curriculum. The parent volunteers are awesome! I could go on and on but I won't. Lakewood Creek Elementary is a wonderful educational and life learning institution for our children!! IL State budget...UGH!! Shame!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

The reviews of this school are incredibly old. Perhaps when it first opened in 2007 there were some glitches and a learning curve. My daughter is an advanced learner, and they identified her very quickly this school year - 2008/09. they have her in the appropriate groups to keep her interested. The teachers are staff are wonderful and are incredibly involved and available to parents. I do not have enough good things to say about Lakewood. It is a fantastic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2007

I am shocked to read such unfair reviews regarding Lakewood Creek. My son has attended Lakewood Creek for four years, and I have been very happy with the teachers and staff of the school. I also have a gifted student, who is at the top of his class and has scored higher than many fifth graders according to his test scores. There is a gifted program, but these parents have yet to ask about it. This school gives parents the opportunity to have their child tested and put into programs that meet that child's needs. Parents: Before you insult the school, perhaps you should do a little research yourself. Regarding the fundraisers, they are wonderful, and the children and parents raised thousands of dollars to be put towards the school. Shame on those parents who put down one of the best school districts around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

This school has been a big disappointment. It is probably fine for most kids, but our children needed high-level learning opportunities, which have not been available. It has therefore given none of the advantages of a huge school, with all of the disadvantages. I cannot recommend this school. Please go elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2007

Overall our family has been pleased with Lakewood Creek. The teachers and staff work hard and care about the kids. The school has a high parent involvement which lead to many events for children and families to attend. They fall short on extracurricular activities. There were very little of them available and they always seemed either to be scheduled on Tues(constant previous committment) or be incredibly expensive. The other area where the school falls short is if you have an advanced, very advanced,or gifted student, the school does not do too much to keep them challenged. Also if your child has special needs, it seems hard for those children to succeed as well. Either the class size is too large or the teachers do not have enough time to pay enough attention to individual needs. Do not excel on helping students if they fall out of the 'normal range'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

I have two children that attend Lakewood Creek Elementary. I have high regards to those who work at the school, as well as the parent's who spend hours assisting with school letters, fundraisers, and activities such as the fun fair, book fairs, and award activities. My children's teachers have always responded quickly to all of my questions. The school also sends out letters asking parents to send in ideas and comments regarding the safety of the school. Bravo to all of those hard working teachers at Lakewood Creek!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2007

I can understand these parent's comments when it comes to overcrowding, but they don't consider that fact that this school has fought and won for support that will expand the school, as well as the other schools in this district. This will allow the school to expand the classrooms to accomodate the growing population. They also do not mention that the parent involvment is very high. Many parents are involved with their chilrens school work and activities. The parents who have left negative comments may not understand that when the children come home from school, the learning does not end. Become involved with your children's school work, and you won't have to complain about your children falling behind in the classroom. I have never had a problem with communication or response to questions directed at the school. As a parent, I am happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

The acadamic programs are mediocre at best; children are not being challenged in oversized classrooms. Due to a lack of resources, the teachers are unable to accomodate the needs of academically advanced students; these students are not a priority for the school, as the administrative staff is too busy trying to determine what to do with an overpopulated student body. Nevertheless, the 308 Oswego CSUD has had ample time since 2004 to deal with the problems of Lakewood Elementary. Working with the administrative staff and teachers of school reinforces our thoughts regarding Montessori and private school education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

I am very impressed with the staff and parent involvement regarding this school. All of my questions and concerns have been addressed in a timely manner. The principle seems to be very concerned about the safety of the children. There is always news and information sent out that keeps parents updated regarding changes or new events. I would like to see more extra activities involving the school, but my family is very involved with the park district which offers many, many activities. Overall, I am very happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2007

This school is incredibly overcrowded and staffed with inexperienced, indifferent teachers and administrators. My children are completely on their own because they do not fit into the 'norm' - they are advanced. This school is geared toward spanish speakers and average students. Anything outside this, forget it. There aren't many extracurricular activities for students to choose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2006

I am very happy with the school so far. All the teachers have helped me out when I had questions and always returned all my calls! I had very good communication with 2 of my son's teachers, by e-mailing back and forth about questions that I may had had or by calling each other on telephone. It shows that they care!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2006

The teachers have bad communication skills, my son has 2 learning disabilities and instead of helping him they keep pushing further along in grades that he can't complete, yet they keep moving him up. They don't return my calls when they say they will and they don't do the proper testing for the kids that need to be done and by the time the testing is finally done it's already the middle of the year and they don't want to have them repeat the year even though they haven't taken in all they should have. All i know is that i am moving into my rental property so my son can be in a school that can help him in furthering his education. This is sad!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students62%
Female53%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Low income53%
Non-low income68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)40%
Students without disabilities65%
English language learners29%

Reading

All Students68%
Female71%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Low income57%
Non-low income73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)27%
Students without disabilities72%
English language learners35%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female77%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracial75%
Native Americann/a
White78%
Low income71%
Non-low income78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)46%
Students without disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students69%
Female71%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracial65%
Native Americann/a
White72%
Low income67%
Non-low income70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
Students without disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students91%
Female89%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracial95%
Native Americann/a
White93%
Low income92%
Non-low income90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)82%
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female78%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracial75%
Native Americann/a
White76%
Low income68%
Non-low income78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)36%
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students62%
Female68%
Male55%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracial75%
Native Americann/a
White66%
Low income51%
Non-low income67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
Students without disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 51%
Hispanic 19% 23%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Black 7% 18%
Asian 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Dave Brusak

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2301 Lakewood Creek Drive
Montgomery, IL 60538
Phone: (630) 636-3679

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT