Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Emily Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 307 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Mount Prospect

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $205,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2014

This School has been the biggest blessing of my life. I was a newly single mother of 2 boys when I signed my older son up for the all day kindergarten. The staff was so welcoming. Mrs. Wose, the before and after care teacher is so kind and sweet to all of the children. The older kids at this school help and look after the younger ones. No one gets bullied or picked on. Now in first grade my older son has had trouble learning how to read. Mrs. Willing has been right there trying to figure out the problem. I am just blown away by how they have taken care of this. They have been incredibly proactive in making sure he gets what he needs to keep up. My younger son is very shy and hated going to daycare. He would cry every morning and break my heart. Now at the full day preschool at St. Emily is is happy. Mrs. Stephens, the preschool teacher is an angel. She is very sweet and kind with all of the children. I cannot say enough about St. Emily school. It is the best place around as far as I am concerned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

My daughter went to St. Emily for 2 years in preschool and 1 year in kindergarten. After the kindergarten, I had to take her out to a public school. First of all, I don't know what St. Emily's main focus is, academic or fundraising. Everyday my daughter went home with tons of fund raising flyers but no homework assignments. Second half of kindergarten year, she started to have homework once a week but it was too easy. It was just one page and she finished it in 5 minutes. I was so surprise at the amount of homework for a kindergartener, so I asked around, and all my friends' kids who went to public schools learned a lot more than my daughter. I taught my daughter to read at home while she was still learning one letter per week at school. So after couple months teaching her to read, I was proud to tell my friends that my daughter could read now. They said their kids read one book a week for several months already. Not only in reading, same thing with math. My daughter was still learning 1-30 at school while my friends' kids were learning adding and subtracting. On top of this, people were not friendly. They were in and out the school without saying hello to each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2012

St. Emily is a great school with amazing teachers!! All my kids graduated from here and had a wonderful experience!!! Go eagles!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2012

St Emily school has provided all three of my children an excellent education, with different needs. The school offers a variety of clubs and activities and a wonderful and supportive community. My eldest child has excelled in honors and AP courses much to do with his preparedness. If you are looking for faith based superior education with support, safety and wonderful families this is the place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2012

Simply awesome school and community! Not perfect but have been extremely happy and so are my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2012

I would put negative stars, but sadly, I can't. I was a St. Emily student and I was chased out by merciless bullies, useless teachers, a back stabbing community and no academic attention. If you're looking for a Catholic school in the Northwest suburbs, go St. Raymond. The St. Emily FLIGHTLESS Eagles know who wrote this.


Posted March 7, 2009

I'm currently a student at St. Emily school. I'm glad that my parents chose St. Emily's. The teachers are nice, and if you need extra help, you can get tutored. I LOVE my education here St. Emily's.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2008

I disagree with the above comment. My three children graduated from this school and all excelled in High School. Every school has it's issues and not any school is perfect. My kids are good kids because of St. Emily
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2008

I love St. Emily school. It has the best teachers and progrmas for student of the ages kindergarden thru 8th grade.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2008

My daughter is a graduate of St Emily and currently is taking all Honors classes at her Public High School. We made the right choice for grade school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

I was disappointed by the fact that this school does not prepare their students for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 20% 4%
Hispanic 4% 24%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 18%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mary Hemmelman
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1400 East Central Road
Mount Prospect, IL 60056
Phone: (847) 296-3490

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Chippewa Middle School
Des Plaines, IL


St Paul Lutheran School
Mount Prospect, IL





St Raymond School
Mount Prospect, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT