Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Mt Prospect, IL
Students enrolled: 687
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lincoln Middle School 1

Posted April 12, 2015
- a community member
The following school had not given the equal amount of attention to students with disabilities and different ways of learning. The school is not about learning, it's about passing. I would not bringing your child here unless you are wanting your child to face unfair and unreasonable situations that children should not be faced with.

Lincoln Middle School 3

Posted August 16, 2013
- a parent
Most of the teachers are great, they have a good communication with students. "The more the teacher connects or communicates with his or her students, the more likely they will be able to help students learn at a high level and accomplish quickly." Unfortunately, some teachers at Lincoln don't really care...


Lincoln Middle School 4

Posted August 16, 2013
- a parent
There is a lot after school activities for kids, most of the teachers are amazing! Great school!!!

Lincoln Middle School 2

Posted August 16, 2013
- a parent
Hate to agree with a previous post but there are several teachers there who should do the students a favor and change careers. They seem to be there just counting down to retirement. Now not all of them are like that( Mr. Alms has to be mentioned for his enthusiasm and effectiveness with the students). As for activities, I would say average but nothing special. Coaches in some sports are exceptional. Coaches in other sports are well, let's just say the rec league VOLUNTEER coaches would out coach them. Too bad the district doesn't improve the building. For being Mount Prospect, this school is old and less than ideal. The lunchroom is an underground cave. The locker rooms are gross and the main gym is a joke. Schools in supposedly worse neighboring towns have way better buildings and technology. ( i.e. River Trails and Holmes). Overall, lower than expected for location but I guess it's better than most city schools.

Lincoln Middle School 3

Posted August 15, 2013
- a parent
I agree with other parents that is "Too many long-term, too-comfortable, ineffective teachers". Some of the teachers are awesome, but most seem like they are there for the above average paycheck.


Lincoln Middle School 5

Posted March 01, 2013
- a parent
I've had three children attend Lincoln and I can't feel more positive about their experience. They have been challenged academically and have learned so much. All have participated in honors courses, which many students are encouraged to do, sports (Mr. Schafer and Ms. Elzer are awesome coaches), and music. The staff, teachers, and administrators are very accessible and extremely dedicated.

Lincoln Middle School 2

Posted April 19, 2012
- a parent
I have two children that go there. One in an enrichment program and another regular student. The curriculum lacks challenges and does not develop the student. It substantially lacks in addressing core writing skills. There is no solid literature program. The science curriculum is weak. No comprehensive text book to form the basics of science is available. On the other hand, the math program, although different from most, is credible and the teachers who teach math do a good job. The enrichment program for weaker students is OUTSTANDING!! Social studies is also a weak program from a curriculum standpoint. The school needs to emphasize personal responsibly and less concern about social development. The kids are are there for an education which includes learning about being responsible and discipline. There are some good teachers, but most seem like they are there for the above average paycheck.

Lincoln Middle School 5

Posted April 02, 2011
- a parent
My daughter had a wonderful experience at Lincoln. Teachers used a team approach to provide a personal environment. She received the tools necessary for great success at Prospect High School, and college next year. They really are dedicated to our children and I feel fortunate to have such a wonderful school in our community!


Lincoln Middle School 1

Posted January 11, 2011
- a parent
I agree with the comments that the teachers are way to comfortable and ineffective. The team concept allows teachers to gang up on students rather than work through issues. The teaching method requires a great deal of homework, 3-4 hours a day. Any minor infraction results in a detention since its the only method they can find to encourage positive behavior. Its not really a positive environment for learning.

Lincoln Middle School
no rating

Posted October 18, 2010
- a community member
Lincoln Middle School has a wonderful program following with amazing teachers who are dedicated making a difference in the student's lives. Please support this great school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lincoln Middle School
700 West Lincoln Street, Mt Prospect, IL  60056
(847) 394-7350
Last modified Lincoln Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lincoln Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top