Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Fairhaven School

Public | PK-1 | 246 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2013

Bad school if your child is academically above the average. Social worker, principal were very good, caring. And whole day KG is not good idea, but I can understand working parents, free KG vs paid afterschool care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2010

The teachers are excellent and so is this administration. Their academic programs are top notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2010

We chose to live in this district - My 3rd child is at Fairhaven, and we love the pre-K to 1st grade format - EVERYONE in the building loves being with the little guys and is focussed on the same thing - creating a strong foundation in literacy. The district values the arts, p.e., library, computers and sees them as part of the curriculum, not "add-ons." The small class size helps foster a positive learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2010

A warm, caring, nurturing environment for children begin their academic career. My three children went through Fairhaven and left with strong educational foundations. The school also worked to build their self-confidence. The small class size is terrific, as were all of the classes that the kids got to enjoy through the course of a week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2010

A great start for my children! This school surpassed my expectations for my boys. I was so nervous to send them to kindergarten but it was such a nurturing environment. The staff was so loving and made my boys feel special and put me at ease. They welcome parent involvement which is important for the age. Loved this school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2010

Excellent Reading program! The Principal is really engaged in making this a great school! I loved the caring of the staff towards our children at this young age. My kids really liked going to school everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2010

My children finished Fairhaven last year being 2009. Our children went to preschool and then graduated to Fairhaven with Kindergarten being all day. Concerned with our young children going to all day Kindergarten; they enjoyed it immensely. Always coming home and singing songs. Our children were eager to learn and that was helped with teachers interacting and working with the students. Our children were part of the dual language program (one week english and one week spanish). Great to hear students knowing two languages.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2008

My daughter went thru 2 years of Pre K and is now in Kindy at Fairhaven. It has received Best in Excellence for their reading program. I'm extremely satisfied with the teachers and the curriculum! My daughter was well prepared for full day kindergarten!! The office staff could be better but the teachers are what matters most!! I will miss this school and district when we move next year!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2007

The academic programs here are good for the most part. They do have a dual language program but only if you start in Kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2006

Spectacular literacy program that is nationally recognized. Principal and teachers are excellent. Parent involvement is very high. On any given day there seems to be as many parents in the building as there are kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2006

This is a spectacular school district! It is focused on high standards and high achievement for all students and it delivers. I love the diversity in the district. I have a junior at Stevenson High School who attended District 76 for all 9 grades and she was more than competitively prepared when she went to high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Great Dual Language Program!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 62% 23%
White 25% 51%
Asian 8% 4%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Black 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Tanya Fergus

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

634 Countryside Highway
Mundelein, IL 60060
Phone: (847) 949-0991

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Butterfield School
Libertyville, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT