Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mechanics Grove Elementary School

Public | 3-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 1, 2014

I am so impressed with MG! Some highlights: -Use of the 7 Habits of Successful students throughout school -Free after school enrichment classes such as lego robotics, yearbook, ect. -New after school science and math program for gifted students -Excellent principal -Emphasis on technology (coding lessons, keyboarding, ect) I am a district mom and a teacher in another district and I am nothing but impressed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

In redard to last post. I do agree that Lincoln was a better school. However, the students do get fed. It may be cereal but they do get fed. It is your own fault if you forgot to consider how your child will eat that day. Your childs nourishment and diet is upon you. Dont forget to send your child without lunch or snacks and dont blame others if you did. I was disappointed that they closed Lincoln. But I was happy that they decided to hire Lincolns Principal.( no names). I was also happy that my child was assigned to the same teacher from Lincoln. (no names). And one other thing. They do have a "gifted" program and your child was most likely tested. If you did not receive a letter explaining how the program works or what the qualifications are, your child may not have been in the running or your are simply not reading your mail or the letters sent in your childs folder that they are supposed to bring home to you everyday. Its a boomerang folder. Have you seen this? Cause if you are careless about what is happening with your child its on you. If you forget to feed your child dinner should the school call you? cause thats what it sounds like. Read what they send you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

MG is not Lincoln School. This year has been a rough transition for families accustomed to the progressive teaching model of Lincoln school. D.75 closed Lincoln and consolidated 3-5 at MG without much input from the community. That being said, the principal from Lincoln is here at MG and there is a good start at changing the culture. Communication was poor, and teachers seemed dazed at first. I think there is a good core here and MG will be fine next year. The D 75 school board is now making efforts to reach out to parents for input, and the MG principal has installed many progressive models in the school again. One concern I have is with the lunches. The quality of the food is poor and they have, on occasion, had kids go without lunch when they forget their lunch money or bag lunch; without communicating to the parents this is going to happen. The overall education is good if your student does not require a more enriching environment. If you think your student is gifted or advanced, you should consider another option, MG doesn't even have pull-out or enrichment programs, let alone gifted education, for advanced students. MG will meet but not exceed the state standard
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

I hate this school. I call and ask a question, and no one knows the answer. I get no feed back on my child until after there was an issue. I am so glad she will only be there 6 more months. I find the teachers, and the ladies in the front office very rude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

MG is a great school! The teachers are wonderful, the principal is caring and my kids enjoy going every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

This is the best school I have ever seen in my life. I know this words are quite old, but the real fact is I can see the diffrence in my kid which I was hoping when I was in school, so I definately said that MG is born to create diffrence in the educational world of America.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

I am very proud to have my child going to a wonderful school. Ms. Thomas is a great teacher and we will miss her when Julie leaves next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2007

Excellent school. Both my kids love it here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2005

I have an 8 and 9 year old in MG, and they love the school and their teachers. As a parent and a member of the PTA, I am somewhat concerned about the physical appearance/conditions at the school, the level of adult supervision in the hallways and on the playground, and the us/them mentality between school administration, the small group of active PTA attendees, and parents of students. There needs to be a more collaborative and welcoming partnering between parents and school administration instead of negative judgmentalism that has permeated the adult relations previously. We have a new PTA board, a new principal, a new school district superintendent, and a new school board this year who hopefully will work together better for more successful improvements and relationships in the school. I know I will work hard toward that goal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2005

The teachers and staff at MG are wonderful. I dont' attend school with my son, but I know everything that goes on there every day. My son is an only child and has had no problems dealing with other children or struggles in learning. Kindergarten is such an exciting time in my child's life right now and he loves every minute of it. Music and gym are a couple of his top favorites as well as the 'centers' that Mrs. Filipo has in her classroom. We have good discussion about those, and if he leaves some information out of our conversation, I can ask him questions on the handouts that us, as parents, receive. My first year, and my son's first year, have been a fantastic exprirence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2005

We have two children currently attending Mechanics Grove Elementary. We couldn't be happier or more satisfied with the education, attention, caring, discipline and warmth that they have each received from their teachers since day one. Both are given the opportunity to work above their grade level when appropriate and are given the extra time to review as needed. The Administration is exrtremely receptive to parent input and strongly encourages volunteer help at many levels. All in all, we are proud to be part of this school 'family'. There are many wonderful and concerned families in our school district who work very hard to ensure that we are giving our kids the best possible education with the resources that we have available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2004

If I had the teachers and the programs that my two kids have at this school, I probably would have payed more attention. My kids come home and are happy to talk about all the things they do. They come home showing the grades they received on their homework that any parent would be proud of. The teachers are tuned into the students. They are first ones to reach out and give their student or students the attention to correct or give praise.The Principle is always involved in activities. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

This school does not have administration with authority, therefore teachers and favored parents have the run of the mill. The school has no patience for challenging students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female65%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asian70%
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income53%
Non-low income71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)37%
Students without disabilities73%
English language learners38%

Reading

All Students68%
Female79%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asian80%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income47%
Non-low income76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)30%
Students without disabilities76%
English language learners28%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female68%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asian93%
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Low income55%
Non-low income74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)42%
Students without disabilities73%
English language learners29%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female65%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asian86%
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Low income40%
Non-low income74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)27%
Students without disabilities70%
English language learners10%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students87%
Female88%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian93%
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Low income77%
Non-low income92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)73%
Students without disabilities90%
English language learners65%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female59%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Low income42%
Non-low income67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)34%
Students without disabilities64%
English language learners6%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students69%
Female73%
Male66%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Low income53%
Non-low income75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)35%
Students without disabilities75%
English language learners6%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value table growth scores from the state of Illinois.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 51%
Hispanic 43% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Kathleen Miller

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1200 North Midlothian Road
Mundelein, IL 60060
Phone: (847) 949-2712

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Transition Center
Mundelein, IL




Fairhaven School
Mundelein, IL


Butterfield School
Libertyville, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT