Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mundelein Cons High School

Public | 9-12 | 2156 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 17, 2013

1) The information reported is incorrect: most of Fremont feeds into Mund. HIgh School not Steveson.2) Less than 100 student out of 2500 are in the ESL program. 3) Mundelein high school as posted their highest ACT score EVER this year. 4) Enrollment in AP courses have doubled in the past 4 years. In addition I have two children at MHS. Both feel safe, accepted and academically challenged. Teachers, staff and administration know who kids are, contact parents when needed and are approachable and caring. I wouldn't send my kids anywhere else. It has been a Godsend having them at MHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

Mundelein High School is above average in terms of the AP courses they offer and the recent renovations of the bathrooms and natatorium. The only exception would be the football team that has been a little shaky, but we do have a phenomenal swimming team. Connor Black broke seven of our eight pool records and even broke a state record and a national record on the 50 fly! We may not be diverse by ethical standards, but we've got a diverse educational curriculum.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2013

Mundelein has reached the proverbial "tipping point" in its demographic slide. Mundelein High School is only 50% white and falling fast, the rest are children of parents who were born in Mexico. Mostly children of illegals. In another few years Mundelein will be indistinguishable from Round Lake or Waukegan. White taxpayers are fleeing Mundelein and its school system (except Fremont Dist. 79 which funnels into Stevenson HS) while more Mexicans who pay little or no taxes are calling Mundelein home. This is having a disastrous impact on Mundelein High School --- special needs programs and advanced curriculum classes (AP, Honors classes etc.) suffer because of the funds diverted to teach the Mexican students remedial English, math and science. Also, nearly a quarter of Mundelein's student body speak little or no English at all, and these students require expensive ESL teachers, further subtracting from what Mundelein High is able to offer. I have not even delved into the disciplinary challenges of Mundelein's "diverse" student body. If you are white and looking for a nice school district, look elsewhere. Mundelein is finished. Just think: only 50% white and falling fast!!!


Posted October 7, 2013

Mundelein High School deserves a much better reputation than it has. My stepson attended MHS, which was the third high school he attended. The smaller school brought him out of his shell, along with involved teachers and respective and accepting classmates. The diversity helps the children to be respective of others. As such, bullying is NOT an issue. He ended up an honors student with an A/B average, accepted at a top college, and with a terrific group of friends. Please see the testing averages by group - we have students who do not yet speak English bringing down the overall average. If you look at kids who have English as their first language, they average is 10/10. If you are a parent that believes diversity is important and fears the social pressures (such as bullying), consider Mundelein. As a parent, I am proud of these students who seem to support each other rather than "pick on' those that are different.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2012

Go MHS! The school has numerous AP course offerings and a variety of activities and sports, and award winning bands and choirs. While not all students excel, those who do are at the top of their game and are well-prepared for highly selective universities such as MIT.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 7, 2012

I regret not moving out of Mundelein. this high school has been terrible to deal with, has limited course offerings compared to surrounding schools, and is poorly run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2011

This is the worst school I know of. The teachers are good, but the way this place is run is completely ridiculous! I moved out of Mundelein just so my kids wouldn't have to go here!


Posted October 7, 2010

Mundelein High School is a school of opportunity helping to build great futures for Mundelein kids. The socio-economic makeup of our community is not able to support this, the only high school in our district as it should be to insure a competitive education opportunity for it's ehtnically diverse student body. The per-capita ratio of funding is sorely below other districts around us. There is much we could accomplish with this opportunity!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2008

Amazing school, my daughter has best friends from every ethnic group and has learned to appreciate differences. She excells in all her classes and is very challenged . She is not into the sports programs and so it is wonderful they offer so much more. The teachers are down to earth and flexable. We are lucky to live in this district . My children are so much more prepared for the real world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

Excellent intsitution. Go Mustangs!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2007

i think mundelein high school is a great high school for my kids. they have high standards, good extracurricular activities and winning sports programs. they have the best show choir in the nation and the teachers (at least the ones my kids have/had) are exceptional. I am so glad I made the move to mundelein....the kids are happy and doing great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

Mundelein is a good high school. It has average test scores for the state, and is surrounded by schools that have better scores. The facilities are good, but the school has budget problems with past referendums to supplement the budget having failed. The teachers range from good to weak. Sports are supported well be the school. The baseball and softball, gymnastics, and water sport programs are very strong. The football, basketball and track programs are competitive in the conference. AP and honors classes are offered. There is a heavy emphasis at the school on doing well on standardized test scores and winning sports teams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2005

I currently have two daughters at MHS, and three other children who have already graduated from MHS and are all currently in college. Two of them are in the honors college and all are excelling academically. They received a top notch education from MHS in addition to the ability to participate in wonderful extra activities such as soccer, the award winning Show Choir, Cheerleading, Chorus, Band...and the list goes on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2004

As parents, my husband and I are very happy with Mundelein High School. Our son is getting a very well-rounded education and the teachers seem to genuinely care for the students. The staff in the office is helpful and we have been very happy with the service we have received whenever we have called for information. Definitely a '10' for MHS for a rating from these parents. - Edward & Debbie Hackett- Mundelein, IL
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students56%
Female50%
Male63%
Black25%
Asian63%
Hispanic34%
Multiracial80%
Native Americann/a
White72%
Low income33%
Non-low income69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities62%
English language learners8%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students60%
Female62%
Male59%
Black63%
Asian82%
Hispanic34%
Multiracial100%
Native Americann/a
White74%
Low income36%
Non-low income73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities66%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students55%
Female50%
Male61%
Black38%
Asian63%
Hispanic31%
Multiracial80%
Native Americann/a
White72%
Low income30%
Non-low income69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
Students without disabilities61%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

21

Graduation rate

88%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 51%
Hispanic 40% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Black 2% 18%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Lauren Fagel

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1350 West Hawley Street
Mundelein, IL 60060
Phone: (847) 949-2200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Transition Center
Mundelein, IL



Libertyville High School
Libertyville, IL


John Powers Center
Vernon Hills, IL


Ombudsman Programs
Libertyville, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT