Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Carmel Catholic High School

Private | 9-12 | 362 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Mundelein

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $195,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,100.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 15, 2013

Carmel high school has a wonderful academic program, state of the art fine arts and science centers, top notch, dedicated teachers and a 4 time blue ribbon recognition for excellence. My daughter has excelled and as a sophmore takikng a pre-ACT scored above average in all areas. It is a hard school and requires commitment and discipline -- unruly behavior is not allowed and you need to follow the rules. But the rewards are great for those who do. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2013

We currently have 2 children at Carmel and we absolutely love everything about it. For those of you who don't like it - you don't have to go there. That is one of the nice things about Carmel - you chose to go there. My kids love it!!!! There is a GREAT sense of community and respect, yet it is fun and lively.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

As a parent, I am disappointed in the quality of some of the teachers at Carmel Catholic. There are some classes my student is in where the teacher cannot control the class and spends the whole class reprimanding the class instead of teaching the basics to the students. Therefore the students are left to learn the material by themselves on their new tablets. The tablets were a terrible choice to make by the school. Half of the time my students tablet is not functioning correctly. Also, the sports program is very political. The coaches make demands of the players while training to try out for a sport, then when try outs come, they don't follow thru with the demands and the players who cannot meet the demands, make the team. I'm very disappointed in the school, and would not recommend it. Save your mone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2013

Carmel Catholic is an amazing school to be apart of. I recently graduated from Carmel. Looking back, I could see that their academics pushed me to be the best that I could be. I thought that getting used to Carmel's grading scale was hard. Now that I'm at college, school seems easy for me now. I have learned all of the necessary skills of organization, planning ahead, studying and many more from them. I couldn't ask for anything else. If you want to have your kids have a great education plus having another place to call home. Please pick Carmel. They will not regret it!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 20, 2011

I'm so blessed to be a part of the Carmel Community. After transferring to Carmel from Mundelein (public high school down the street) I was amazed by the sense of family. They we're so willing to help during my transferring processes, making me feel welcomed and giving me all the information I need about school and sport tryouts. The students here are just as wonderful! They are all welcoming and supportive, making friends at Carmel was a breeze! They challange you in academics, I feel so much more prepared in the long run. My parents, also, love this school more than I do! They enjoy knowing how safe this school is and that I'm getting the best education. So excitied for school to start up again!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 12, 2011

Strong academics, many alumni with not only bachelor's degrees but also advanced degrees. As an alum, I only had good times there. They really taught me how to study and it helped when I arrived at Illinois (Champaign-Urbana).


Posted September 25, 2010

My daughter is a freshman at Carmel and I am blown away by the sense of family that the school demonstrates. Kids, teachers and parents work together in a way have have never remotely seen in a public institution. Strong moral values and transparent and frequent communication with parents is really driving our daughter to excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2010

We have been very pleased with our first year experience at Carmel. Our child was able to take a leadership position in an extra curricular, made great friends, and had a strong academics in the Honors Program. Teachers communicate well with parents - there seems to be strong parental involvement and a great sense of community here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

As a parent of a student at Carmel I have been very disappointed with the quality of some of the teachers. I am also convinced that politics plays a key role in determining which students are selected for extra-curricular activities. (sports,street scenes,etc)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2009

I love Carmel. My kids love Carmel. It is truly a second home to my kids and I and the students, faculty, and parrents are like a second family. I am on my third child at Camel, and my views on Carmel have gotten better by the year. I have nothing bad to say about it. My kids have absolutely loved it. I have one graduate and he is so thankful for his Carmel education. He always tells me how prepared he was when he first went to college. And I also have another son that it going through the application process right now and Carmel is very involved in giving him the best opportunities.Carmel is just an all around great school. I absolutely love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

As a current student of Carmel Catholic Highschool I believe that this is the greatest school on American soil. Not only does this school provide me with great education but it also has given me many life lessons. Also, Carmel has given me the ability to succeed in my sports around the greatest coaching and other athletes around me. Carmel has made me a better person and I look forward to everyday at Carmel.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2007

What can I say, this was an awesome school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2007

My daugther just graduated from Carmel and as parents we could not have asked for a high school to provide a better enviroment for academics, athletics and development of an sense of ethics and morality. They truly develope values that will live a lifetime. The willingness of the teachers to provide additional time for students was fabulous. The sense of community my daughter developed will be with her for a life time. I can totally understand why generation after generations insist on sending their children to Carmel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2007

'Values that last a lifetime' is their motto. Strong Honors & AP program. Teachers are devoted/inspiring and took extra time when our daughter needed help. The educational environment raises the bar for each student to do their very best. It was amazing to see her maturity/leadership qualities strengthened during her 4 years at Carmel. They are solid in sports/arts & offered plenty of extracurricular activities. Parent involvement is exceptional on all levels (especially Fundraisers). Our daughter excelled at Carmel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2006

Carmel does a great job preparing students for college and giving them the tools to be successful. Teachers and administration care very much about the students and 'Carmel Family.' Great educational experience for our kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2004

Great school, gives kids the tools they need to succeed in college and life. Teaches them to apply christian values in everyday life. As a former graduate (along with 3 siblings), I made sure my kids(2) went to Carmel, to give them the head start that I had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Great school, high academic quality. Faculty interacts well with both students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

New science wing opened February 2004 with ten state-of-the-art classrooms with deskside computers, plasma screens for instruction, and much more. High level of parental involvement. Students participate in Kairos retreat before graduating that is a positive and transformative experience. Student morale and kindness to each other is high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Great School. Lots of activities, clubs, sports. Great teachers - staff has both older mature experienced teachers along with young fresh ready to conquer the world teachers. Positive campus attitude. Discipline and consistent attitudes toward keeping students together.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Hispanic 4% 24%
Black 3% 18%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lynne Strutzel
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Carmel Parkway
Mundelein, IL 60060
Phone: (847) 566-3000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Libertyville High School
Libertyville, IL


Transition Center
Mundelein, IL



John Powers Center
Vernon Hills, IL


Ombudsman Programs
Libertyville, IL


Vernon Hills High School
Vernon Hills, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT