Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Naperville, IL
Students enrolled: 571

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Maplebrook Elementary School 1

Posted July 03, 2014
- a parent
The most unprofessional and incompetent leadership staff imaginable. Unresponsive, fails to follow basic district guidelines.

Maplebrook Elementary School 3

Posted April 11, 2013
- a parent
I would agree with the earlier parents comments about IEPs and addressing children's disabilities. We are about to go to our third meeting for a plan for our child. He has also experienced problems because of the "problem solving plans" being partially implemented (the specials teachers were not informed) and the problem solving plans were taken away without our knowledge. There is also lack of consistent documentation in our case. There is little support for the social and behavioral difficulties the child's disability causes as long as academic grades are good enough. The school has many great academic, fine arts and philanthropic opportunities. The band and choral programs are amazing. But helping a child cope and manage with a disability takes a great deal of parental monitoring and involvement at this school.


Maplebrook Elementary School 5

Posted February 13, 2013
- a parent
A great school that provides committed teachers, a well rounded education and a great sense of community. There are programs designed for all talent levels and the instruction is based on the varying levels of educational talent. Teachers are very accessible and the children are greatly prepared for the next level of education!

Maplebrook Elementary School 1

Posted September 10, 2011
- a community member
\Quite possibly the worst school for a special needs kid. I have a child with special needs at this school. I have attended IEP meetings in which the so-called "team" sits there and makes decisions for your child's program and does not want to consider the parent's knowledge of their child. In addition, they make changes to your child's program without informing you. They also employ "Crisis Intervention" techniques that only escalate the child. The communication from teachers and aides is poor at best and they seem to downplay any bad days the child has, and do not document it. I am utterly disappointed in these folks, they do not have my childs best interests at all...it is all about saving a buck, and providing the least amount of services they can get away with! Stay away from this school if your child has special needs!

Maplebrook Elementary School 4

Posted September 10, 2010
- a parent
For the most part, this is a great school - very involved parents. Most of the teachers my kids have had have been excellent. My only gripe has been that the principal is a bit too concerned with decorating and landscaping rather than the children's welfare.


Maplebrook Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2009
- a parent
We moved here three years ago, and my son entered Maplebrook in third grade. I was concerned about how he would meet other kids, if he would make friends, etc. Well, the environment was so nurturing and friendly, that he easily met kids and made friends. The Home School Association is strong (I was on it) and my son was in the Gifted/Talented program, which was amazing; the teacher was superb. All of the teachers care about kids. The principal appears to be a little detached, but when you get to know her, she is extremely concerned and engaged. My only criticism is the red tape you have to go through, to be a room parent or to get involved, in any way. But that is only because so many parents want to help out, there. A great experience for my son.

Maplebrook Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2008
- a parent
I worked at this school and can tell you that it is as wonderful as everyone makes it sound!

Maplebrook Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2007
- a parent
Maplebrook is a wonderful school. The curriculum for the entire school is A+. Dedicated teachers, and an overwhelming parent/student participation. I couldnt ask for a better education for my 2 sons.


Maplebrook Elementary School 5

Posted December 26, 2005
- a parent
Maplebrook is a high quality school with an excellent staff of dedicated teachers. There are excellent programs offered for gifted students as well as students with special needs. The extracurricular program compares to many junior highs with a wide variety of interests for all students. The parent involvement is phenomenal and shows in the pride that the students, staff, and parents take in the school. An excellent place to live and raise children.

Maplebrook Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2005
- a parent
The Best. Dedicated staff, inovative, encouraging and the parent involvement incrediable. Music, art offered once a week and and PE offered twice. The Administration is the highest quality and willing to go the million mile for each student. FIND a house in this schools neighborhood, you won't get any better!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Maplebrook Elementary School
1630 Warbler Drive, Naperville, IL  60565
(630) 420-6381
Last modified Maplebrook Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Maplebrook Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top