Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Prairie Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
The school's motto is "Proud, Safe & Kind". I feel that kindness and inclusion is a focus. My daughter participates in a program where volunteers eat lunch with kids with special needs to make sure everyone is included. This kind of interaction benefits everyone and I am pleased that Prairie does this.

Prairie Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
Kids are held accountable and teachers communicate promptly with parents if there is an issue. My son was not honest with his teacher once and she reached out immediately so that we could address it jointly as a united front.


Prairie Elementary School 5

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
Both of my kids attend Prairie. We moved from out of state half way through our daughter's (our oldest) kindergarten year and what a noticeable difference in education levels from her prior school! It took her a full year and a half to get up to speed. We feel very fortunate to have the opportunity to send our kids to Prairie. The staff is extremely communicative and all teachers we have encountered are highly qualified, effective and passionate about their work. We were concerned when we first moved to Naperville because we heard there was a "snooty" factor but in the 3 years we have lived here, we have not experienced this. A great school and lots of opportunities for parents to get involved and get to know each other through Home and School (PTA) activities (i.e. Fall Social, family movie nights, Parent socials, etc.).

Prairie Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2013
- a parent
Amazing dedicated staff. Strong home and school association. High achieving students. multiple outreach and fundraising for comminity organizations. Ongoing building improvements. adequately preparing kids for the five facets of the 203 mission.

Prairie Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a community member
All three of my now adult children attended this school, and some of the teachers are still there teaching and inspiring. Some still in touch. The teachers are compassionate, caring, and involved in their students' education. The parent involvement from what I understand remains strong. All great foundations for success. Reading the last review - I must comment, this is not pre-school and it is not jail. The mission is to raise critical thinkers! If no one's home, go the neighbor's. There are a lot of "what ifs" in life. The key is to problem solve for a good outcome. Your problems, being late for pick up, should not become the school's, they are there to EDUCATE your child, not babysit them - teach your children well. The field trip issue, I would agree is somewhat concerning, but they recognized the problem and resolved it with a positive outcome. I bet you can't tell me you've never made a mistake. I loved this school, and the staff and would not hesitate for a moment to recommend it to anyone. Lastly my children were so prepared for life and are very successful in their professions, and I attribute that to all the Dist. 203 schools. Past Happy Parent A.D.


Prairie Elementary School 1

Posted December 12, 2012
- a parent
My kids have been in this school for two years, and there have been a couple of really troubling issues. Most recently, the school sent one of them on a field trip they weren't signed up for--so they weren't on the list. What if they'd been left behind. Another problem this school has is the drop-off and pick-up procedure. The kids are dropped off and left outside until the bell rings. Then even the kindergarteners are just let out of the door when the bell rings; anyone could be there to take them, and there's no safety procedure in place. What if a parent were in an accident, and the kindergartener starts walking home alone? They should allow the kids to go inside when they arrive, and for at least the kindergarteners, there should be an early dismissal or some other procedure in place. This school has some serious safety issues as far as I'm concerned.

Prairie Elementary School 4

Posted October 15, 2006
- a parent
I would give anything to be part of Prarie again. My children are ahead of most kids at there new school. It was very challenging for our children and that helped them to challenge themselves. I love Prarie!

Prairie Elementary School 4

Posted April 12, 2006
- a parent
high level of parent involvement, great school district,


Prairie Elementary School 5

Posted January 03, 2006
- a parent
Both our son and our daughter have attended Prairie over the past 7 years. It is a wonderful school with attentive, skillful teachers and a comprehensive challenging curriculum. We have been pleased with each child's experience and preparation for secondary grades.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Prairie Elementary School
500 South Charles Ave, Naperville, IL  60540
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (630) 420-6348
Last modified Prairie Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top