Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
258 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

In response to the January 29 comment regarding the Jr. High Part Time teachers: In addition to the full-time 6th, 7th, and 8th grade teachers, Bethany also employs additional staff in order to offer a wide array of classes and experiences in the Jr. High. The students learn Spanish, Music, Band, Art, P.E., Religion, Literature, English, Geography, Science, History, and Math. We hire teachers trained and educated specifically in those areas so that our students are well prepared for High School and beyond. Students of Bethany are very successful and go on to excel in their academic careers.
January 29, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (6 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (7 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 90 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bethany Lutheran School 1

Posted August 21, 2016
- a community member
If you send your kids here you better have a good attorney. This school has been sued for negligence. If that isn't bad enough, they have included others in the lawsuit to cover their hind ends. That doesn't sound very Christian.

Bethany Lutheran School 1

Posted June 30, 2016
- a community member
This school is having a lot of problems. They have lost a lot of kids and are trying to plug a financial gap by expanding the preschool. I would be very careful about sending a preschooler into that environment and suggest taking a look at Trinity's preschool on 95th.


Bethany Lutheran School 1

Posted March 20, 2016
- a community member
Our kids went here a while and I would say this school is mediocre at best. It's not worth the tuition.

Bethany Lutheran School 5

Posted February 19, 2016
- a parent
Bethany is a wonderful learning environment for students. They are given the opportunity to learn in a safe, nurturing environment. The students, teachers and administration work side by side on not just academic skills but also social/emotional skills. I am thrilled the school has implemented the "Second Step" Program into their curriculum. This has given the children tools to use as they interact daily with each other.

Bethany Lutheran School 2

Posted February 13, 2016
- a community member
I agree with the posts regarding discipline and bullying. This school has some problems and at the top of the list is poor leadership.


Bethany Lutheran School 5

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
Bethany has been a blessing to our family. Both of our children attend here and we are very confident that this is the best place for them. The staff goes above and beyond each day to ensure that our children's needs are being met academically, socially, emotionally and spiritually. As a parent, I feel that these reasons help set the foundation for my children's lifetime love of learning. I truly enjoy being greeted by staff members each day. It is the small things like this that make Bethany so special. We feel like we are a part of a community where the people (staff and families) take a vested interest in our family on a daily basis. The relationships that have been formed in and out of school are bonds our family will have for a lifetime. The academics are such that the learning is truly reflected from each child's own learning ability. With having small class sizes, the teachers can effectively make adjustments to meet our child's needs. This is a big plus in my book as a parent. Students are challenged and assisted when needed. The overall culture of Bethany is very family-oriented. Our children know students from each grade in the building (from Preschool - 8th grade) due to their 'buddy program' which our children love. Sometimes just seeing a face in the hallway they know can make their day extra special. I love knowing that my children are well taken care of in so many ways by so many individuals. One of the hardest decisions is leaving your child in the care of someone that isn't a parent, close friend or relative. For our family, we don't have that decision to make, as Bethany is our family. My best advice for any family considering sending their child to Bethany is to go in for a tour. See first hand how God's love is changing lives each day.

Bethany Lutheran School 2

Posted February 04, 2016
- a community member
Our children experienced a lot of unchristian behavior at this school and the staff seemed very reluctant to deal with it.

Bethany Lutheran School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 30, 2016
- a community member
I am grateful for the principal Pam Mueller. She is an advocate for children, an example of Christian Love, and has assembled a top-notch staff to provide the highest quality education for those who attend Bethany. I thank her for always being so personable in our interactions, for being a presence in the building, for being proactive in her approach to discipline, and for working closely with the pastoral staff to ensure the word of God is being rightly taught in the school.


Bethany Lutheran School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 30, 2016
- a community member
I am amazed at the growth I have seen in my children both academically and socially after transferring them to Bethany. I am fully confident that the staff are not only molding their minds academically, but are sharing the love of Jesus Christ with them on a daily basis. The Word is sufficient and efficacious. This is something they would not be getting in the public schools.

Bethany Lutheran School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 30, 2016
- a community member
From my experience, there is homework given practically every day. In my opinion this is a good thing. As a teacher myself, I don't think that amount given to my children is too much, nor not enough. I trust that knowledgeable and professional staff are adhering to best practices when it comes to the assignment of homework.

Nearby schools

Bethany Lutheran School
1550 Modaff Road, Naperville, IL  60565
(630) 355-6607
Last modified Bethany Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top