Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
532 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


All Saints Catholic Academy 3

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
The premium cost for All Saints does not out weight the offering of the school. We started our children here and moved out to our own parish school due to the high cost.

All Saints Catholic Academy 3

Posted August 22, 2015
- a parent
All Saints is the most expensive or at least one of the most expensive of the catholic schools in Naperville. Sadly, it could be a great school, but it lacks strategic leadership. The principal's heart is in the right place, and I believe she means well, she's just isn't a modern thinker. She reminds us of the nuns who ran our catholic grade schools 30 years ago. Negative reinforcement vs inspiration to be great. Instead of technology or modernizing the education, or even fixing the pot holes that ruin our cars--she spend a money decorating an entrance no one is allowed to use anyway, and putting a fence around the play ground making the kids feel like their in prison. Every time the kids come up with something that gives them a little joy at recess, she develops some rule of why it has to be taken away from them. They can't even play football anymore. The school lunches are absolutely horrible. The junior high kids are treated like elementary school kids instead of adequately preparing them for the decision making and freedoms of high school. The teacher's quality varies, you have some incredible ones, and you have some who are not so great or who can't handle the pressures of middle school kids. The principal has favorite kids and families and if you are one of them your experience is completely different than if your not. The ones here who commented positively I'm sure that is their experience, but not everyone has that experience. The school is getting a new principal at the end of this school year so we all hope things will get better. I agree with what people said about the sense of community and the welcoming spirit. That is true. It's just challenging to have that completely off set the other parts of the experience.


All Saints Catholic Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 22, 2015
- a parent
completely depends on what teachers you get, some are great and some are not so great, some yell, for disipline, there has even been a couple that loose it and throw things and instead of scarying the kids to behave, they become the topic we parents here on the card ride home

All Saints Catholic Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 22, 2015
- a parent
I think this comment must have come from a student, as the home work is truly not that bad. Maybe an hour a night, and longer if you have a test. They give lots of notice, I think some kids just procrastinate

All Saints Catholic Academy
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted August 22, 2015
- a parent
same comments as earlier, yes and no. However, there is a great deal of school spirit and passion at the school


All Saints Catholic Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 22, 2015
- a parent
Yes, I do believe they teach that, but again, the current principal is not respected very much by many families or the older students who understand her flaws

All Saints Catholic Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 22, 2015
- a parent
Yes, living your life like Christ is a big part of what is taught here.

All Saints Catholic Academy
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted August 22, 2015
- a parent
When the principal plays favorites and all the kids know that, it's hard to teach kids fairness


All Saints Catholic Academy 1

Posted May 27, 2015
- a community member
Oh my goodness. Thomsen, IT teacher, is indeed an evil wretch. Rude. Unhelpful. Spiteful. If you say hi to her she won't even respond. Hauser, K teacher, is nuts and mean. Not a good combo. When asked about her, parents always say she's not good with the parents. That's an understatement. And Renehan is a hypocrite. Many of her family and cronies work at the school. She doesn't keep wild kids in check. A dictator. Not the leadership that school needs. Families are leaving in droves and remaining families just wish that she would retire. Very disheartened community. Academics are fine. But if your child needs more of a challenge, forget it. Too much for a teacher to take on. There seem to be a lot of troubled kids placed in that school. Not sure if it was a last resort for the parents, but very disruptive to learning and well being of other children.

All Saints Catholic Academy 5

Posted January 29, 2015
- a parent
We have had 3 daughters got to school here. We have been here since its inception. I love the school. There is a community feel. There is tons of parent volunteer opportunities. We have also had children(older) go to 203 public schools. I feel we can do a fair comparison. i feel the education is better. i love the parent participation. Every school may have issues, but every reached out to Dr. Renehan, I was always answered in what I feel was fair and prompt manner.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

All Saints Catholic Academy
1155 Aurora Avenue, Naperville, IL  60540
(630) 961-6125
Last modified All Saints Catholic Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
All Saints Catholic Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top