Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bridge View/Challenger Schools

Private | 5-12 | 13 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Niles

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $185,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2012

I am a former student at B/c and can safely say it is an unsatisfactory, dare I even say a horrid experience. The Academics are watered down and not even the least bit challenging. In the class I was in, Math was skipped once a week. Reading class didn't involve any reading. We all just listened to a CD of the book we were reading. Students get to skip classes to play games, and the teachers, on top of all this, are mostly lazy. Alot of them don't deal with bullying, and have a 'if I don't see it, it didn't happen' attitude. The Principal didn't seem to believe in me, and prevented me from Transitioning when I really felt I was ready. If your child have emotional issues, this is not the school for you, because most of the kids have behavioral issues. I've seen fights break out, both physical and through words, and the most teachers will do it carry students by force to a padded room, even if they calm down and inform the teachers they don't need to go, or ask for another chance. Classes regularly watch movies that aren't educational at all, and the games on the computer are mostly violent. If you have nowhere else to send your child, you'd be better off homeschooling them.


Posted March 27, 2012

Most of the teachers are lazy and don't teach classes. They give students individual assignments each period, and then spend that time reading books or playing around on their computers. The students work on their own. There are a few good teachers there who really work, but most of them don't. The principal doesn't seem to be doing anything about this.


Posted March 27, 2012

There are some teachers there with real anger issues that they take out on their students for minor or imaginary infractions. Someone needs to do something about this. In addition, some of the teachers seem to have no idea how to deal with their students disabilities.


Posted October 22, 2011

Well I been out of that school 2 years now and this school is vary bad place for students. They say its a special education school but sadly the teachers do not seem to care of the students special needs A student who had a serious disability and had a bad habit that she can't help allays got in trouble for....they were kinda making fun and teasing her and this school makes you ashamed of your disability so the school is not a good place a special needs. Student are even better of at a public school in a bad neighborhood compared to this place. -James. O
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2011

Would like to see a better forum for student's to transfer to a mainstream environment. There appears to be little support for this. There is minimal preparation for students to move foward and that leaves the student "stuck" in this environment with little opportunity for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

as a current student. The 'tours' make everything seem happy and go lucky. But in reality, things aren't what they seem to be. The teachers are nice, but the small gym sizes and class sizes leave no time for interaction, whatsoever.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2009

My daughter will begin her senior year in the fall. I am so excited for her. SHe started attending Bridgeview mid year of her freshman year. What a differance they have made. She went from failing and hating to school to A/B and enjoying school. The sttaff are wonderful caring people that take care of the whole family. I don't know where she would be without Bridgeview.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

I have nothing but good things to say about Challenger. My daughter spent quite some time in other school settings and did not succeed. When she started attending Challenger she felt like she finally fit somewhere. The low class numbers and the availabilty of the therapists really help her to be able to handle a school day. The continuous calendar is beneficial to her, as she does not do well with 'vacations' from school. The principal is fantastic and the staff take all of my parental concerns seriously. I know that after being here, she has a much better chance at leading a productful adulthood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2008

As a past student, who was refused services after two years of attending Bridgeview, I believe it lacks emotional needs and support for those who need it most.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2008

My son has Asperger's Syndrome, and public schools intimidated him to the point that he could not think. Having no friends, he was an easy target for people who would take advantage of his naivety. In the small-school setting at Challenger, and being with others who 'think differently,' my son has blossomed. His intelligence shows - he has a B+/A- average - and he has friends who 'get him.' The faculty is terrific, especially the principal. I am grateful for all the people who work with special-needs children in Lake County that helped my son find Challenger. You DO make a difference. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2007

Im not a parent, but I am a graduate of Challenger. Going to that school was what turned my life around. The teachers there are great, and are trained to deal with kids who need extra help. And the therapist are amazing! Especially mine, I still see her today. Overall, this school can offer so much to parents that are looking for a school for their child to go to when they are not able to attent 'reguar' school for emothional or behavioral problems. With low numbers of kids in each class, the children are able to get tons of 1 on 1 attention from the teachers.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 8, 2006

It is a therapeutic day school so there are no extracurricular activities. Parents go to family counseling sessions but otherwise I do not feel welcome at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 66% 24%
White 23% 51%
Black 10% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Chris Raspante
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6935 West Touhy Avenue
Niles, IL 60714
Phone: (847) 588-2038

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Juliana School
Chicago, IL




St. Thecla
Chicago, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT