Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Normal, IL
Students enrolled: 645
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Chiddix Jr High School 2

Posted April 06, 2015
- a parent
Very disappointed in the level of commitment and follow through from specific teachers, and zero assistance from principal to implement necessary change. Teachers of notoriously tough subjects should strive to create a more seamless transition from 5th to 6th grade, not make it harder than it already is. Overall huge let down for our first year here and unfortunately one bad teacher spoils the bunch for me. Maybe 7th grade will be better.

Chiddix Jr High School 1

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
DO NOT send your gifted kids to this school or any other Unit 5 middle schools because they don't have ANY type of special programs or higher standard learning classes AT ALL.


Chiddix Jr High School 3

Posted September 16, 2014
- a community member
If your kids are gifted don't send them here as they spend no money on gifted programs. Smart kids are generally undervalued here because it is clearly not a priority.

Chiddix Jr High School
no rating

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers! They are innovative and caring.

Chiddix Jr High School 1

Posted June 19, 2009
- a parent
Academically and ethically the school is not what it used to be! Keep alert and listen to your child.


Chiddix Jr High School
no rating

Posted November 06, 2008
- a parent
Meeting Teachers in the review session was very useful interaction. I really appreciate their good understanding & their experience. My son faces adjustment problems with other kids and we working with Associate Principal on this. I find school response encouraging.

Chiddix Jr High School 5

Posted November 05, 2008
- a student
Chiddix is a great school and there are amazing teachers that that you are sure to love.

Chiddix Jr High School 5

Posted April 05, 2007
- a student
Chiddix Jr. High School is a great school. I go to Chiddix and have lots of fun! The teachers are great snd lots of fun!


Chiddix Jr High School 4

Posted January 28, 2006
- a parent
My daughter has adapted very well to Chiddix Junior High. The teachers, staff, and classmates were very welcoming. I was disappointed in the level of academics, they are about 2 years behind the area we moved from and do not have anything to offer past a certain point, so she is taking the same classes she took as an honor roll student in seventh grade over as an eighth grader here in Chiddix. That has left her bored and with a loss of interest this year. The music teacher is great, but the program is behind what I was used to as a standard program. I believe the whole unit needs to raise the expectations and the students will follow with the quality of work expected.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chiddix Jr High School
300 South Walnut Street, Normal, IL  61761
(309) 452-1191
Last modified Chiddix Jr High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Chiddix Jr High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top