Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ridgewood Community High School 1

Posted August 02, 2014
- a parent
Like the other person said this school keeps getting worse! my daughter had bad time especially with math and science. before she got to ridgewood, all a's. at ridgewood mostly c's. the administration does nothing

Ridgewood Community High School 1

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Ridgewood only has one semi-satisfactory aspect:athletics. Even kids with athletic scholarships or talent from here end up going to community colleges, or colleges that need to provide commercials to get people to go there.


Ridgewood Community High School 4

Posted September 14, 2013
- a parent
As a parent who grew up in the catholic school system, including a catholic university, I was very hesitant to send my child to Ridgewood. It is one of the best decisions I have ever made. While not perfect, Ridgewood has numerous aspects which I am very impressed. First, the teachers here truly care about these kids. The are very accessible, always returning my emails very quickly and offering students time for extra help. These teachers want students to succeed. Help is always available for students, the students however, need to act like young adults and admit when they need help. I am also very impressed with the classes. The honors classes have stimulated these students to make it into top ranking universities like Harvard and Yale. Ridgewood's curriculum is tough. Straight B's won't get you on the honor roll, you need at least a 3.5 GPA. Non honor kids also are given opportunities to figure out which future path they might take. Ridgewood works with Triton junior college for many career classes such automotive or culinary. The high school also has offerings in CADCAM and construction principles. Finally, the school is beautiful! It is newly renovated and state of the art!

Ridgewood Community High School 5

Posted July 29, 2013
- a parent
I like RHS! As a parent i know that we are the first teachers! Ridgewood is an excellent school for kids to attend.

Ridgewood Community High School 2

Posted June 16, 2011
- a parent
This school has tried to make strides but has failed. The money they get goes into athletic buildings, fields and scoreboards and is not addressing the below state average academics. The school board needs to invest more time in what they can do to turn this around and less on the sports. The school board needs to take control of this place and find out why there is fiscal appropriations going to sports and not else where.


Ridgewood Community High School 1

Posted February 09, 2010
- a parent
That schools gets worse and worse each year. I hate to admit it but I think I'm actually going to move, so my child can go to a better school.

Ridgewood Community High School 4

Posted August 13, 2009
- a student
Ridgewood is a great school overall. It has a variety of excellent after school sports and clubs for anyone. The teachers and staff are very supportive and willing to teach us too. The building itself has been remodeled a little bit, such as, the library and and new gym. Ridgewood highschool has given us an amazing education and has done that for the past 50 years. Here is the real deal Ridgewood Highschool is an extrodinarary highschool for children that want to learn and have a great future.

Ridgewood Community High School 1

Posted May 12, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Ridgewood Community High School 1

Posted December 18, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ridgewood Community High School 4

Posted September 18, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ridgewood Community High School
7500 West Montrose Avenue, Norridge, IL  60706
(708) 456-4242
Last modified Ridgewood Community High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ridgewood Community High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top