Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oak Forest High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 13, 2013

I graduated from this hs in 05. Yes I was one of older students in 05 it happens when you generally get bad luck with schools I should have gone to bremen but with dad like mine and bremen having stairs and not being acomidating enough so wasn't happening so I got pleasure of attending ofhs there are 2 teachers to avoid in whole time I was at ofhs. In a school the size of ofhs is amazing to only get two bad apples. People who help in running school are very helpful when their is a problem. Most teachers are great. Yes many of them our tough but trust me you want to be challenged in his. The tough ones who aren't bullies are the best. If you get a chance take art at least 1 yr you won't regret it. 2 other must take courses at leat once is psychology you will learn a lot of interesting things. And child care class. Yes child care class teacher despite size seems intimidating she isn't at all you will learn a lot about children but also a lot about yourself in process in her class.


Posted October 5, 2009

My son graduated in May, 2009. My husband and I along with my son found the teachers to be very helpful not only with the materials and knowledge of teaching but also with their guidance toward his future. He was in sports and and learned about being a team leader along with discipline in his workouts and devotion. I would recommend this high school as a five star high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

When we searched for a community in which to raise our children the quality of the schools was paramount. We had heard great things about OFHS and, gladly, we have found them to be true. It is a big enough school to have a comprehensive curriculum and plenty of sports and other extra curricular activities. On the other hand it is small enough so that the students don't feel like a number but rather a person. The teachers, on the whole, are very qualified. Finally, graduates perform well in post-secondary activities!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

I'm a senior at OFHS, and it has been ultimately the best four years of my life. OFO has lots of extra curricular activities, and sports.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2008

I love this school this is the best school my children have ever attended. They have learned more here than they learned in private school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

OFHS is really, REALLY competitive.I think their a little too competitive.I mean it's a good school and there's really no big drama violence.The students like most other schools everywhere are getting worse with the students.The get worse each year.The school needs to get some renovations done because during passing the halls are always too crowded and the lockers are minuscule.The teachers are pretty good and sports are good too.Food is WAY too expensive though.Also the school needs too add some more A&E classes widen horizons a little bit because there is not much to choose from.Some school have video productions and do announcements on broadcasted.Maybe make more parking spaces and better fields.Also get a new auditorium because a cafetorium is 1)really sad because even elementary schools have them and HS should be more advanced and 2)it's really hard move around and stuff-OVERCROWDEDNESS!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 24, 2007

I'm a Freshman from here. Theres not that much voilence and we mostly get along. I get a great education and have fun with my friends. What school is better then that.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 19, 2007

I graduated from here and it was one of the best schools around. It offered a lot of different AP classes and its sport programs were excellent.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 24, 2006

My daughter will be an incoming freshman for the 06-07 school year. Classes have been chosen and I was happy that my daughter had access to an AP class. She is looking forward to marching band and theater. I hope that the level of parent involvement is as strong as her current school, although I can't comment on it at this time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2005

This is still one of the best schools in the south burbs. A lot of politics going on lately though. Still some of the teachers are really wonderful, good sports, great activities!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 20, 2005

I graduted from this school this is the best school in the south suburbs, the teachers are great and the sport is ok but the rest is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

OFHS is by far a wonderful school. The majority of the staff is very friendly, genuinely care, and easily confide able. It has a great curriculum and is properly challenging. Great cafe deli sandwiches! With the right attitude and confidence success is not a question. I was a student there for four years and enjoyed every moment of it.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students51%
Female49%
Male52%
Black16%
Asian55%
Hispanic41%
Multiracial50%
Native Americann/a
White57%
Low income32%
Non-low income58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female60%
Male58%
Black28%
Asian64%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial60%
Native Americann/a
White64%
Low income42%
Non-low income64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities63%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students52%
Female49%
Male54%
Black24%
Asian55%
Hispanic46%
Multiracial40%
Native Americann/a
White57%
Low income35%
Non-low income58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

21

Graduation rate

93.8%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 51%
Hispanic 21% 24%
Black 7% 18%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15201 Central Avenue
Oak Forest, IL 60452
Phone: (708) 687-0500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Project Challenge
Oak Forest, IL



Bremen High School
Midlothian, IL



Elim Christian School
Palos Heights, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT