Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Oak Lawn, IL
Students enrolled: 424

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sward Elementary School 2

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
The teachers are great, the curriculum is excellent, and my son has been very happy there until the last couple of months. My son has eczema and is under a doctor's care. The school nurse continues to call, harass me, and claim I am doing nothing for my child. This week it was suggested I NOT send him to school until this is "under control." You think a nurse would know something about this. It's pretty awful that your medical staff is harassing parents of the students. It is enough to make me pull my child out of Sward. I hope someone looks into her conduct and no one else has to go through the belligerence I have had to. Thank you for your time.

Sward Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2013
- a parent
Sward is mostly populated by students from caring and involved families;thats part of what makes it such a great place! When both the family AND the school faculty are involved, success is available to any student. This school, its faculty and principal are exceptional individuals who are great at giving kids the tools they need for success. Principal Gloodt seems to know all the kids by name and is very involved in the day to day operations of the school. The teachers Ive had the pleasure of interracting with seem genuinely invested in their students success. I am very pleased with my students experiences at Sward.


Sward Elementary School 5

Posted January 30, 2013
- a parent
Great school with a demanding work load for the kids balanced by positive caring professional teaching staff. This school has a strong no-nonsense principal and provides a great learning environment for all the students.

Sward Elementary School 4

Posted March 28, 2012
- a parent
Both of my girls attend Sward Elementary. My oldest started out in private school so I was not sure what to expect when she transferred to a public school. I have been more than pleased with the quality of their education.

Sward Elementary School 3

Posted February 03, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Sward Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
My daughter attended Sward School from 2nd to 5th grade. Mrs.Gloodt is an excellent principal, very involved with with all the students. The teacher are great at what they do.

Sward Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sward Elementary School 5

Posted March 08, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Sward Elementary School 4

Posted June 20, 2006
- a parent
We have been very pleased with Sward. My child had some attention issues and they were addressed by not only the principal and teacher, but at least 7 other professionals within the district. The principal and teacher involvement is top notch. I am looking forward to sending my other children to Sward.

Sward Elementary School 5

Posted March 15, 2005
- a parent
A fantastic school. The teachers and staff care very much about the children. Always open communication between parent / teacher.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sward Elementary School
9830 Brandt Avenue, Oak Lawn, IL  60453
(708) 423-7820
Last modified Sward Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sward Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top