Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Oak Lawn, IL
Students enrolled: 1,685

4 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


H L Richards High Sch(Campus) 5

Posted March 12, 2013
- a parent
My son has Asperger's Autism. RIchard's has done everything possible to accomodate his needs and my son is now is all "regular" classes and in only 2 Special Ed classes. He is also on the honor roll now. There are a lot of exceptions given (allowed to turn in late homework etc) so it is almost impossible not to do good here. Originally, I was totally against sending my son here since I was worried he wouldnt get education. Now, I can honestly say, that my son is getting the best education he could get anywhere. He is learning and also enjoying the activites/sports at school. Also, new principal, Mr. Hallberg, is wonderful!!

H L Richards High Sch(Campus) 1

Posted April 19, 2011
- a student
I don't think this school is all that great, I attend it too. They handle Psychological problems the wrong way. And some teachers don't care about the kids. I merely educated myself in the topics I am most interested in. Such as Psych and History. The students slack, and some students shouldn't even be in special education just because they slack and the school will have an excuse to have average test grades. The staff and Admins ignore you, and they go crazy if you don't have an ID. And they only take their sports seriously and don't fund other clubs that are Educational and Fun such as Art Club.


H L Richards High Sch(Campus) 1

Posted April 14, 2011
- a student
I am unfortunately attending this school. i would not suggest it unless you like to be ignored by administrators, and constantly stalked about wearing an id. at this point i wish i went to private school and i never thought i would say that.

H L Richards High Sch(Campus) 2

Posted October 06, 2010
- a community member
I'm a former student from a recent graduating class at Richards. I have few good things to say about the education I received. Among the good things that the school provides is an extremely diverse student population that promotes collectivity. That being said, I think that teachers were uninspiring and preoccupied by disciplinary issues. I have gone on to study at a rather prestigious 4-year institution since graduating from Richards and I was thoroughly under-prepared for the rigors of university academics. Teachers at Richards are good, but have yet to master how to cultivate a strong work ethic in its students. While I have managed to teach myself how to learn and will most likely be going to law school within the next couple of years, that is more of a testament to the time and energy that I have devoted to myself than anything that Richards can take credit for.

H L Richards High Sch(Campus) 3

Posted June 11, 2010
- a student
The school consists of 3 kinds of people: students who don't care about their own education only their social life, students who are very good at cheating, and the very very small percentage who actually work for their grade. Basically the top percent of the students are those who cheat their way through high school (with some exceptions of course). A large sum of the teachers are good and honestly work to teach their students but its odd how many of them are unaware that the same homework assignment (exactly the same assignment) is turned in various times throughout the day. The school is very good at providing help to students who need it especially those who may be mentally impaired. The sports program at the school is amazing but sometimes sports are very over emphasized over school work.


H L Richards High Sch(Campus) 1

Posted May 11, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

H L Richards High Sch(Campus) 5

Posted October 28, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

H L Richards High Sch(Campus) 5

Posted August 21, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


H L Richards High Sch(Campus) 1

Posted June 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

H L Richards High Sch(Campus) 4

Posted May 16, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

H L Richards High Sch(Campus)
10601 Central Avenue, Oak Lawn, IL  60453
(708) 499-2550
Last modified H L Richards High Sch(Campus) is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
H L Richards High Sch(Campus) Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top