Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Oak Park, IL
Students enrolled: 570
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Abraham Lincoln Elementary School 5

Posted April 10, 2015
- a parent
Excellent school. Teachers & staff pay close attention to the students needs. My daughter is an accelerated reader and writer and her teacher has accommodated her needs.

Abraham Lincoln Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2012
- a parent
LOVE Lincoln! Great principal, great teachers, great enviornment as far as other kids and parents. From the start they recognized my daughter's needs and met them on both ends of the spectrum (she needed help with handwriting and yet was an advanced reader and received instruction from both the occupational therapist and the gifted teacher). The facilities are wonderful as well. I would highly recommend Lincoln to another parent as it has exceeded my high expectations.


Abraham Lincoln Elementary School 2

Posted February 27, 2012
- a parent
Disappointing in many ways. We had high hopes for LIncoln but pulled our children out after a few years. They learned more science and social studies in the first month of private school than they did in several years at Lincoln. The principal is so focused on test scores that nothing is taught except the math and language that will be on tests. I was also really disappointed in the general quality of teachers. One of our teachers actually swore at kids in the classroom - which the principal tried to cover up. The art and music programs were fantastic though.

Abraham Lincoln Elementary School 5

Posted March 12, 2011
- a parent
Wonderful school. My daugher graduated from a primary montessori program and stared 1st grade at Lincoln. The teachers and staff are caring and supportive. The homework is appropriate. My daughter loves her teacher and looks forward to going to school ever day.

Abraham Lincoln Elementary School 5

Posted February 18, 2011
- a parent
Strong art, music, PE & library programs. Concern re recent test scores is misplaced when consider both racial diversity here & the absurdity of certain No Child Left Behind requirements. Gifted teacher has hands full due to school size & would clearly prefer time to be more creative but still fits in some awesome projects (e.g. global Virtual Classroom for 5th graders). Most teachers do well meeting kids' needs at various levels. OP parents are opinionated & demanding, yet the vast majority of Lincoln families love the school. 2 good options for after-school care for working parents. Principal has her teachers' backs (at times to a fault, per some parents) & gives them respect & autonomy. Teacher morale is thus high & teachers have very strong bonds & good mentoring relationships. Do NOT move here w/ unrealistic hopes of Spanish fluency. Partial Span. immersion program has definite benefits, but space is ltd (1 out of 4-5 classrooms per grade) & even then, this is NOT full immersion, & teachers still have to get through ALL the same curriculum in the same time as others)
1 person found this helpful


Abraham Lincoln Elementary School 5

Posted June 07, 2010
- a community member
I am a former student and all I can say is that I spent some of the best days of my childhood Up and Lincoln. I learned so much from the staff. The teachers are so nice, loving, caring, and they are the kind of people that you can talk to about anything. I have no negative things to say. Any child who comes to Lincoln is in good hands and is super lucky to be in a place with such compassionate people. Enjoy your time at Lincoln because I will warn you that when you get to Brooks, it is a WHOLE different story.

Abraham Lincoln Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
Children are cherished as individuals; parents are treated as partners. It is an environment in which learning is nurtured and every child is important.

Abraham Lincoln Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Both of my children went their and they do a good job. It's UP at Lincoln.


Abraham Lincoln Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 19, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are caring and the programs are great!

Abraham Lincoln Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 19, 2009
- a parent
The faculty, staff, and parents are absolutely outstanding at this school. The students are getting a wonderful enriching education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Abraham Lincoln Elementary School
1111 South Grove Avenue, Oak Park, IL  60304
(708) 524-3110
Last modified Abraham Lincoln Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Abraham Lincoln Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top