Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted November 29, 2011
- a parent
The principal, Mrs. Kumar, has done a terrific job leading and building an exceptional team of teachers. The curriculum is challenging for all levels of students. A lot of parents are very involved with the school and volunteer often. Great location, surrounded by plenty of park space and a very social environment at drop-off and pick-up.

Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2010
- a parent
This school is phenomenal. I believe that parental involvement plays a huge part. We are paying high taxes to live in this wonderful and diverse community. We expect excellent schools and Mann does not disappoint.


Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted July 24, 2010
- a parent
This school has always been the best elementary school in Oak Park and nothing has changed. Lots of parental involvement has resulted in special programs that aren't offered at the other schools. The quote about materialism is ridiculous and inaccurate.

Horace Mann Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 17, 2009
- a parent
This school is busting at the seams! It used to be a quiet little hamlet where you could send your child to with confidence. Quite a bit more chaotic now. ISAT scores are no longer the district's highest. Contrary to prior review materialism rules. Ugg boots, iphones even blackberries are had by many students.

Horace Mann Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 05, 2009
- a parent
Contrary to last review, we find the principal to be excellent. Responsive and working closely with faculty on curricular development, and addressing student concerns straight on. The quality of programming and faculty has improved since she began her tenure. We visited Latin, and realized, that while Mann isn't a country club - it has just as much going on academically. Not as diverse as other Oak Park schools, but families and students are generous, involved, and focus on education more than material concerns.


Horace Mann Elementary School 3

Posted November 02, 2008
- a parent
New principal isn't so great. Kids not so welcoming to others and the education is not that different than other area schools. What is different is the lack of diversity: economic and ethnic. I volunteer in the classrooms and believe me... half the kids the parents push as gifted are just normal, bright kids. Good school, not all it's cracked up to be.

Horace Mann Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 19, 2008
- a parent
Parents run this school. If your child is not gifted, forget it. Carol Young is no longer principal at Mann.

Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted November 25, 2004
- a parent
Principal Carol Young has done a fantastic job of leading this neighborhood school. Principal Young and great parental involvement teamed with a devoted facilty made Mann School one of the best elementary schools in the area. Both of our daughters have greatly benefited from the individual attention, high end programming, competitive atmosphere and caring teacher staff. We cannot imagine a better elementary school and the exorbitant local property taxes are all worth it once your 'little geniuses' start to develop. Both of our girls are doing work beyond our expectations.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Horace Mann Elementary School
921 North Kenilworth Avenue, Oak Park, IL  60302
(708) 524-3085
Last modified Horace Mann Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Horace Mann Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top