Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Whittier Elementary School 3

Posted May 31, 2014
- a parent
Whittier is a good school but it could be great, if all the students could achieve a good education. I have a problem that the minority students continue to lag behind in math and reading. They have a good after school program, but, how do you measure growth. In comparison to the other schools in Oak Park, their record on is somewhat disturbing. If you pressed the issue, you get a song and dance from the staff.

Whittier Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
I have been pleasantly surprised with Whittier thus far. My child is now in his third year at the school, and his teachers for his main classroom and the other classes have been fantastic. He and all of his friends are thriving, reading and doing math well beyond what the "standards" are. The school has a real feel of a community and is well run and has nice facilities. In Oak Park, this is one of the finer schools for sure.


Whittier Elementary School 5

Posted June 28, 2011
- a parent
Whittier is an amazing school. The teachers and the programs have inspired excellence. I have one child that is in the gifted programs and one child who performs slightly above average and both have found their place at Whittier. The principals and the teachers have been extremely responsive to problems that have arisen and proactive in preventing problems. Additionally, the school welcomes parental involvement and is a very nuturing environment. The multiage program is very effective in creating a community of kids. An important thing about the multi-age program is that math and reading are taught in a single grade break-out session, but other subjects (science, social studies, music, art, spanish) are taught in the multi-age environment. The teachers are responsive to email questions and concerns, as is the principal. The PTO is extremely active and very open to new members. I cannot speak highly enough about the school and the community.

Whittier Elementary School 2

Posted April 23, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Whittier Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
We are very pleased with Whittier. Our son has had excellent teachers in his first three years of school there. The teachers are very intelligent and sensitive to their students' needs.


Whittier Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 20, 2009
- a parent
The school is awesome! We are in the throws of mainstreaming our son back into #97. My son has Autism. We used an outside consultant to help us view (3 different schools.) 6 classrooms total for a good fit. This was our pick as well as hers. Things might change- but it sure was a good jumping off point for us. -thank you!!

Whittier Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 19, 2009
- a parent
Whittier is a progressive school, first in the school district to offer full day kindergarten and a multi-age program. The teachers care about their students and are committed to not only teaching at the highest level using the most current tools, but they also inspire kids to be better citizens within the community.

Whittier Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2009
- a parent
Two of my kids go there since K, one is heading to Brooks middle schl. I really like the the school and I have even volunteered many times. The NO bully act is definately successful.


Whittier Elementary School 5

Posted December 13, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Whittier Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Whittier Elementary School
715 North Harvey Avenue, Oak Park, IL  60302
(708) 524-3080
Last modified Whittier Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Whittier Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews.