Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cardinal Joseph Bernardin Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 635 students

We are best known for national Blue Ribbon status.

 
 

Living in Orland Hills

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $220,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2014

Good school, great people. Congrats class of 2014. I wouldn't hesitate when recommending this school to anyone.


Posted April 13, 2013

My school is amazing. Support? A time to shine? Everyone gets that all the time, I'm a student that goes there everyday so I would know better than any parent with their bad opinion of our school. We have fund raisers, SCRIP, food/clothes drives. The teachers actually do summer camp if you need help, I got tutored by a teacher for 7th grade while I was still in 6th grade. They take the security of the school very cautiously. They have lockdowns, fire drills, tornado drills, and other secured drills. We are also a Blue Ribbon School. There is no one left behind. We are all one family. I know when I graduate from 8th grade, I'll miss all my friends, teacher, and staff.


Posted November 6, 2011

We have been part of the Cardinal Bernardin community for 9 years and couldn't be happier. As my oldest daughter transitioned to high school this year, I was nervous as to how she would adjust. Now that the first quarter has passed, my husband and I are filled with gratitude that our daughter is enjoying high school and doing well academically. This is due to the preparation the teachers at CJB gave her. We are confident that this will be the same for our 3 younger children and will be sad when they are done at Cardinal Bernardin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2011

We have four children that will have completed K-8 at CJB. The school has an excellent balance of academics, social, athletics, and community. There are many parents at this school that team with the admistration sharing their talents which usually results in further improvements and success for CJB. One of our four children is now at a college prep high school. She is now realizing how CJB helped prepare her for core courses. She has come home and stated that she is thankful for the introduction of topics in Jr. High. If you want to be involved in your child's education, there is plenty of opportunity. If you believe that everything regarding your child's education should be completed during school hours, this is not the right fit for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2011

After careful consideration of the excellent public schools in our area, my family selected CJB. 10 years later - my 3 children are thriving and I could not be happier with our choice. The school provides outstanding educational opportunities but it also allows my children to grow in a loving, family-centered, faith based environment. The school community (faculty, administration and parents) all work together to provide each child with the skills and confidence that are integral to academic success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2011

I am a parent of three children. My oldest just graduated from Cardinal Joseph Bernardin. She has been a student with CJB since she was 5. My other two children are in 7th and 3rd grade. As a parent I am PROUD that my child is a graduate from CJB! Now that my daughter is in High School I can truly recognize the amazing academics that is provided at CJB. Yes, the standard is high, but it is well worth it in the end. CJB provides a "family-like" atmosphere with an amazing staff/faculty. I am very happy with the sacrafice my husband and I have made to send our children to CJB! We have met the most amazing families that will be apart of our lives for years to come! CJB whatever your doing keep up the great work! GO CARDINALS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2011

Cardinal Bernardin school has been a wonderful choice for our three children. We have been at CJB for over 10 years and have an excellent experience both academically, athletically and socially. We have met many wonderful people at CJB and feel blessed to part of the CJB "family".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2011

I have had three children graduate from CJB and it was worth the money. They were all prepared for their college prep high school. The transition was easy because they were used to homework on a regular basis. They were also great writers too. The staff and families were all caring and participated in school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2011

The quality of this school is excellent. The school is a community. Everyone is caring and respectful. The discipline that we have at home is reenforced at the school. The academics are excellent and the children are prepared for a college prep high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2011

I was told once, that in the end, every child gets to the same destination. It's the journey that counts. My two children that attended CJB are in high school now. They were well prepared academically and socially. Their journey through CJB was a wonderful experience for both of them. They love to go back and visit as much as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2011

Our family has been part of CJB since it opened. The school has prepared my two high school students well. While it does take a sacrifice, we have never regretted our decision. We have one more child at the school and will be very sad when she graduates. The sport program has given my kids memories and lessons that they will never forget. CJB excels in education, spirituality, and athletics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2011

Our family has been extremely satisfied with CJB School. We have been very pleased with the academic program, sports program and music program at the school. The atmosphere is very positive. The teachers encourage the students to acheive the highest level possible and they reinforce a peaceful Christian environment. We have made the right decision for our children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2010

The support at this school was not acceptable. Every child deserves the chance to shine - not just the brillant ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2010

Cardinal Bernardin (CJB) is an excellent school. My son has attended the public school as well as CJB. I found both schools to have excellent teachers and strong academics. CJB has U of Chicago math program. While my family enjoys this program, others have not (ask questions). The hw at CJB is FAR more demanding and the students (imo) are well prepared for the rigors of high school. The expectations placed upon the students are very high. However, I have found that the teachers are willing to work with students and parents if the workload becomes too much. The school is a tight knit Catholic community. You will know everyone eventually. We have enjoyed this aspect of the school, while others have not. In some grades, there are as few as two classrooms. The school has received many awards and the admin continues to set high standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

This school is excellent. The teachers and administrators are very responsive to concerns and my children have thrived here. Very much of a community feeling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2008

This is an outstanding school and newly a Blue Ribbon school!! Pure academic excellence with teachers that are the best of the best!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

I am new to CJB and I love it. Every one was so welcoming on my first day.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2007

I'm going into 8th grade at CJB (cardinal joseph bernardin) and I have to say that I hate it, my parents don't like it. The academics is good but not great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2005

Absolutely fantastic! The staff,along with the archdioces, have created an elite educational experience. It is expensive, but worth the price! By the way, school uniforms are very cost effective. All schools should have them. One more thing, I teach in the public school system and KNOW a good school when I see one!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 51%
Hispanic 11% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Black 1% 18%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Nationally Recognized Blue Ribbon School of Excellence (2008)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mary Iannucilli
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (708) 403-8621

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Please visit www.cardinaljbschool.com for a complete picture of our Blue Ribbon school!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9250 West 167th Street
Orland Hills, IL 60487
Website: Click here
Phone: (708) 403-6525

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Christa Mcauliffe School
Tinley Park, IL


Christian Hills School
Orland Hills, IL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT