Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
592 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Michael School 4

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
I have found this school overall to be very beneficial to our two children who attend here in the early years. There are a few in the 4th/5th that we are not excited about right now, and we are not alone, there is a parent group working with the Mr. Smith in hopes to address these concerns. Mrs. Pericht was not fired. They (Fr. Paul and the board) made some changes to the school budget and she elected to leave the position in the school office as a result. However, Mrs. Pericht is wonderful and continues to show her dedication to these students in the athletic department, for that we are truly blessed.

St Michael School 1

Posted May 08, 2015
- a parent
This school is not a good option. The staff doesn't take anything seriously enough. The teachers are afraid of the parents. Certain teachers have gotten fired just for scolding some rich parent's kids. One teacher got fired for giving bad grades. Mrs pericht got fired for no reason. The teachers are horrible and selfish. Sex Ed is a joke. It is a very hostile environment. When My son walks into class He feels very unwelcome by fellow students and teachers. Bullying is horrible, but the teachers are afraid to do anything. Mr miller is the only teacher that takes the students seriously.


St Michael School 5

Posted November 09, 2014
- a parent
The school is wonderful. The curriculum is challenging and prepares children for academic excellence. The principal and teachers are very kind and caring. Our children love the school.

St Michael School 3

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
Some of the teachers in the older grades have put in writing that getting homework is a courtesy and not the responsibitlity of the teacher. When you are paying $4500.00 for one child...the homework being sent home is the teacher's responsibility. Most of the teacher's for the younger graders are amazing beyond words. Maybe the older grade teachers need to LEARN to LOVE doing their job instead of JUST doing a job.

St Michael School 5

Posted August 27, 2012
- a parent
The teachers and staff are very focused on safety and school details. Every student matters. Happy times and good memories come from the enormous support that the school and church provide my children. The students here learn how to succeed.


St Michael School 5

Posted February 27, 2011
- a parent
St. Michael School has been a blessing for my daughter who transferred here 2 years ago. A wonderful school to grow spiritually and academically. Catholic School Excellence!

St Michael School 5

Posted September 29, 2010
- a parent
I have been very impressed with the teachers. The principal is very involved with the students and parents. She knows every student by name. I find my children to be more advanced in math and english than kids their age at other schools. St. Michael is unlike any other school in the area, in that it offers advanced technological resourses to every level. Every classroom has a SmartBoard and their Video conferencing system allows teachers to take their students on a virtual field trip where they interact with subject matter experts from all over the world. All of that, on top of learning values and discipline every day.

St Michael School
no rating

Posted October 17, 2009
- a parent
St. Michael is an excellent school that prepares children for high school...above and beyond the average amount of preparation. We are extremely happy with the school. The principal is kind and caring and has changed St. Michael School for the better.


St Michael School
no rating

Posted March 27, 2009
- a parent
So far I am not impressed with this school as I was with my son's other school. The staff is nice but not friendly. I think that the teachers need to give some attention to the students on a 1:1 bases.

St Michael School 1

Posted February 11, 2009
- a parent
This school is terrible. The teachers are incompetent of teaching and my daughter cannot wait to get out of the school. She feels unprepared for highschool and overall feels like the school is a prison.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Michael School
14355 Highland Avenue, Orland Park, IL  60462
(708) 349-0068
Last modified St Michael School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Michael School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top