Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Churchill Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
I believe the Principal and Asst. Principal are nothing short of amazing. They are truly great leaders of this incredible school. I'm so glad to be a part of the community.

Churchill Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
I can't say enough great things about the teachers my son has had. They've really reached him, challenged his thinking and abilities, and turned him into a voracious learner.


Churchill Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
Some nights he had too much last year, but most of his classmates had less I think. He just struggled to manage his time. He's so much better now, and this year is VERY manageable.

Churchill Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
Over the course of last year, my struggling student went from very negative and work avoiding to a kid that loves school and happy to work hard and reap the rewards for his efforts. It was all with support from the classroom teacher, other staff, and a personal re-calibration. It was wonderful to see.

Churchill Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
Through Character Counts! and daily high standards for conduct, the kids are a very respectful bunch.


Churchill Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
The entire school took part in fundraisers for struggling families, the 5th grade packs food for Feed My Starving Children, the 4th graders held a used book sale for fellow student's families as a service project. Compassion, caring, and empathy are woven through every day at Churchill.

Churchill Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
The 6 Pillars they reinforce all year through the Character Counts! program, through daily interaction, assemblies, and modeling, all develop those qualities.

Churchill Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
From Mrs. Harmon (principal) and Mr. O'Connell (asst principal), to the teachers and staff in the classrooms and hallways, to the many parent volunteers, Churchill has far exceeded my very high expectations. My child is involved in after school activities, loves the AT classes, and has a teacher that keeps her students engaged and invigorated every day. The community regularly blows me away with their compassion, rallying around many families struggling through very personal and devastating issues. I am deeply grateful my family has had such a positive and enriching experience at Churchill.


Churchill Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
Churchill is full of talented and caring teachers, who definitely go above and beyond what is expected. My daughter's teacher does so many creative, engaging activities, and she is always quick to drop an email full of praise. My son's AT teacher designs creative activities to keep him challenged. This school is tops.

Churchill Elementary School 4

Posted April 18, 2012
- a parent
Love the music and art programs. My kids come home with beautiful creative artwork and enjoy music. These programs are crucial to a great education. Each classroom should implement these into everyday learning. I dont see enough creative projects coming home only boring worksheets that the kids are just burnt out from. Where are the erupting volcano projects and shoebox displays?!

Nearby schools

Churchill Elementary School
520 Secretariat Ln, Oswego, IL  60543
(630) 636-3679
Last modified Churchill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top