Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wm Fremd High School

Public | 9-12 | 2785 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 19, 2013

Overall, a very good high school. Academics and athletics are above average. The facility itself needs to be updated a bit in order to remain competitive. The one problem I have is other people on this forum overstating a bit. Let's face it, it's not New Trier.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 27, 2012

I didnt like the school at all. They made you ware Id's and forced you to take gym classes. The fact that you had to wake up at 7:30 and go to 8 classes was terrible. If you can stick it out and wait until you go to a different school/college things will get much better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2010

Mediocre teachers and underfunded advanced programs, it's probably more of a community issue but since we moved here, we've been disappointed with the school (2 children attended within the past 6 years).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

friendly people and awesosme school! overall
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

friendly people and awesosme school! overall
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

It's a great school that incorporates community outreach programs ran by the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2009

This is by far one of the greatest schools in the Chicagoland area. Challenging courses, teachers that really care about their students. I am very happy both my children attend Fremd High school. Palatine has excellent grade schools and high schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2008

I love Fremd. I have been to many schools, and Fremd has by far been the best! The teachers and staff are awesome. I am so glad that graduated from Fremd!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2008

This school was top notch. Not exactly the most diverse place in Chicagoland, but what it lacks in diversity, in makes up for in quality academics. Unfortunatly at the time I was making the best choices in life and did not make the best of my education at Fremd. Needless to say it did not take me long to shape up, finish JC and graduate UCSC. I do not think I this would have been possible had I not recieved an education at Fremd. I just wish I had not been so young and dumb, I never showed my teachers the respect they deserved.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2006

Wonderful academic program, wide choice of AP classes, many extracurricular activities to choose from, great staff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 18, 2005

This is excellent school! Grades are the best in the state, theachers are very educated, school looks very clean, it has pool, football field, tennis cort, garage for auto class, huge parking lot for students and teachers and so many more...Students have very good music, sport and other activities. My kids are very happy there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2005

This school is an excellent public school. All the classes(especially honors) are very academically challenging and the teachers are interesting.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 19, 2004

What a great school, all three of my children recieved a great education at Fremd. My kids where in sports and involve in other extracrricular activities. They all scored high on the ACTS. Teachers are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female81%
Male83%
Black35%
Asian92%
Hispanic47%
Multiracial90%
Native Americann/a
White85%
Low income54%
Non-low income85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)36%
Students without disabilities85%
English language learners42%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female80%
Male74%
Black25%
Asian76%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial60%
Native Americann/a
White81%
Low income52%
Non-low income79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)45%
Students without disabilities79%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students76%
Female75%
Male77%
Black30%
Asian76%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial50%
Native Americann/a
White80%
Low income51%
Non-low income78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)29%
Students without disabilities79%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

25

Graduation rate

96.6%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 17% 4%
Hispanic 7% 24%
Black 3% 18%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 South Quentin Road
Palatine, IL 60067
Phone: (847) 755-2610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Kirk School
Palatine, IL




Rolling Meadows High School
Rolling Meadows, IL


Young Adult Program
Rolling Meadows, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT