Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Paul Of The Cross School

Private | PK-8 | 76 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Park Ridge

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $310,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2014

St. Paul of the Cross is a wonderful school vested in the success of children. The school has an incredible Principal who knows all of the students and bases her decisions on what is best for the kids. The school community is blessed to have such a talented leader. Aside from a small contingent of "know it all parents" who challenge efforts and exhibit self-serving motives rather than offering assistance, the school produces kind, well-rounded graduates with the tools to succeed in high school and beyond. I must add, the majority of parents/families are very nice people - the playground gossip group is easily identifiable and even easier to ignore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2013

We have been so happy here, our third child is starting preschool next year. Warm community and teachers who both keep you in the loop and are genuinely concerned for your children. I would love there to be a playground for the younger grades but see it as a fundraising challenge!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2013

Fantastic. My child is happy going to school, the kids are friendly and polite. The principle genuinely cares about continually improving the school. In comparing this school to other faith based schools you can't go wrong. Very much a community. Look at the test scores and high school placements. I don't see it as a day care. I think it's appropriate to let children be children and introduce sports in 4th grade. There are opportunities for other clubs and activites. You need to read the Thursday mailings and be in the know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2012

I am surprised by some of the ratings here. We've been at the school 5 years and my 3 children are getting exactly the education I had hoped for - academics as good as the publics, and regular faith education. The kids go to mass every week. We have really enjoyed being a party of the community of families here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2012

Very disappointed in this school. The preschool program is very lacking educationally and when it comes to communication with parents. The school in general has some very nice staff, but seems unorganized. My family was also very disappointed in the sense of community. Parents weren't very welcoming, and there weren't a lot of activites for building relationships with the other preschoolers and their families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2011

I am so happy with my kid's progress in this school! Mornings are easier because they look forward to going to school. All of the kids are very well behaved. It's nice to send my kids to a school where all the kids are smart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Nothing is offered in terms of extracurricular activities/clubs for children K-3 most after school programs begin in grade 4, very limited variety. Most schools offer much more. If your child has any learning challenges from mild to extreme, this school offers very little assistance & is not able to make recommendations on outside resources that may help. No after school tutoring, teachers & staff are usually in a big rush to leave exactly 30 min after school lets out. Not much in the way of dedication to the students. Outside music classes are offered at a fee, but very limited to string instruments only-no piano or guitar offered. I feel as though more of our hard earned dollars that we use to pay for a good strong catholic education at this school is spent more on keeping the grounds perfectly manicured as opposed to investing it in our childrens education here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I completely agree with yet another parents review here, this school is most definitely more like a day care rather than an educational facility and I say this across all grade levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

Two thumbs up, great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 18, 2008

Hate to admit it, not the school it used to be; it tumbled very far very fast. Math program is horrendous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

More like a day care then a school. Too many days off of school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

My daughter loves this school!!! As a 3rd grader she is learning so much about diversity and acceptance, but most of all being humble ... I know it will bennefit her in the future... I am so thankful she has this opprotunity. Sincerely. Dave Betts
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2008

After graduating all of my children from St. Paul of the Cross, I must say they had an awsome foundation with their faith, teachers, eduacation, administration and after school programs, including athletics. With over 750 children in the school they offer many clubs such as Art, Choir, Chess, science and more. As far as accomidating the special needs of children my understanding is that St. Paul was at the for-front of bringing thier local school District into the school for extra help such as social work needs, meeting speech needs in their school and assistance with children with IEP's and just kids who are struggling. St. Paul also has two special needs teachers in the lower grades and two in the upper grades besides the teachers sent by the district. My children were average athletes and played competitively for 5 years and loved it. No one is turned away. Great choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2007

After 10 years at SPC I would say the teachers are hit or miss...some great ones and some who seem to be just biding their time. The athletics dept. has had its share of problems, favoritism and poor sportsmanship. Now for the good...it's an extremely stimulating environment. Students do not sit at one desk all day and stare at one teacher. They move around to music, art, PE, library, computer. The religious education is just what you would want these days. With about 75 kids per grade there are a lot of friends to be made. Volunteer opportunities abound but sometimes parents/teachers want to do so many things they burn people out constantly asking for help/money. But you can always say no. Despite its flaws, I prefer SPC to the Park Ridge public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

St. paul is a great school with very good teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2006

i feel the faculty is oustanding. a long tradition of catholic education blended with todays challenging academics
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2005

We were initially impressed with the school, but the longer our kids attended, the more its faults were revealed. The terachers are average at best. The administration is difficult to work with for the special needs of both advanced and students with increased needs. They are always nickel and diming parents. The athletics department is a joke. Very clubby group of people for the most part.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2005

This will be our eigth year at St. Paul of the Cross. The teachers have been nurturing and provide individualized attention as needed. The school places alot of effort upon developing good behavior and values. Unfortunately, the Athletic Dept. leadership is the Achilles heel here. All said, I recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2005

We live two parishes away (both with schools)but travel the distance to send our kids to St Paul. It is by far the best Catholic school in the Chicago area. The facilities are cutting edge (computer lab, library, science lab, gym, art studio), curriculum is superior, faculty are wonderful, caring people and there are lots of 'extras' including sports, music, art. The graduates get into the very best high schools and score high on standardized tests. Plus, the parish is very active and full of involved parents and families. My very shy son has blossomed in this environment. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 51%
Hispanic 7% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 18%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lorelei A Bobroff
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

140 South Northwest Highway
Park Ridge, IL 60068
Phone: (847) 939-3603

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pk Ridge Intl Mont
Park Ridge, IL




St. Juliana School
Chicago, IL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT