Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Park Ridge, IL
Students enrolled: 660
 

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Paul Of The Cross School 1

Posted January 31, 2015
- a parent
Sad to say but "SPC is not the place to be." The few good teachers at this school have left. The remaining are either not qualified to teach or have just "given up", for lack of a better term, and are just there to collect a paycheck. The principal does nothing when confronted. Her job is to fundraise and market the school to attract new students to fund her budget. We have spent thousands of dollars sending our children to tutors not because they were failing, but because we felt it was necessary to compensate for the poor quality of education at this school. Many of the tutors in the area are funded by parents of SPC students. Our oldest child graduated from this school with honors, but failed basic algebra in high school. The counselor said that it is a pattern of students from SPC. My child was crushed. There were many children in my child's class that left last year for the same reason - poor academics. We pulled our other children out and sent them to another school. In hindsight we should have done it sooner. As parents we hoped that the money we spent at SPC would correlate into a good quality education. At this school it does not!
5 people found this helpful

St Paul Of The Cross School 5

Posted March 13, 2014
- a parent
St. Paul of the Cross is a wonderful school vested in the success of children. The school has an incredible Principal who knows all of the students and bases her decisions on what is best for the kids. The school community is blessed to have such a talented leader. Aside from a small contingent of "know it all parents" who challenge efforts and exhibit self-serving motives rather than offering assistance, the school produces kind, well-rounded graduates with the tools to succeed in high school and beyond. I must add, the majority of parents/families are very nice people - the playground gossip group is easily identifiable and even easier to ignore.


St Paul Of The Cross School 5

Posted May 18, 2013
- a parent
We have been so happy here, our third child is starting preschool next year. Warm community and teachers who both keep you in the loop and are genuinely concerned for your children. I would love there to be a playground for the younger grades but see it as a fundraising challenge!

St Paul Of The Cross School 5

Posted March 30, 2013
- a parent
Fantastic. My child is happy going to school, the kids are friendly and polite. The principle genuinely cares about continually improving the school. In comparing this school to other faith based schools you can't go wrong. Very much a community. Look at the test scores and high school placements. I don't see it as a day care. I think it's appropriate to let children be children and introduce sports in 4th grade. There are opportunities for other clubs and activites. You need to read the Thursday mailings and be in the know.

St Paul Of The Cross School 5

Posted October 20, 2012
- a parent
I am surprised by some of the ratings here. We've been at the school 5 years and my 3 children are getting exactly the education I had hoped for - academics as good as the publics, and regular faith education. The kids go to mass every week. We have really enjoyed being a party of the community of families here.


St Paul Of The Cross School 2

Posted October 19, 2012
- a parent
Very disappointed in this school. The preschool program is very lacking educationally and when it comes to communication with parents. The school in general has some very nice staff, but seems unorganized. My family was also very disappointed in the sense of community. Parents weren't very welcoming, and there weren't a lot of activites for building relationships with the other preschoolers and their families.

St Paul Of The Cross School 5

Posted August 08, 2011
- a parent
I am so happy with my kid's progress in this school! Mornings are easier because they look forward to going to school. All of the kids are very well behaved. It's nice to send my kids to a school where all the kids are smart.

St Paul Of The Cross School 1

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
Nothing is offered in terms of extracurricular activities/clubs for children K-3 most after school programs begin in grade 4, very limited variety. Most schools offer much more. If your child has any learning challenges from mild to extreme, this school offers very little assistance & is not able to make recommendations on outside resources that may help. No after school tutoring, teachers & staff are usually in a big rush to leave exactly 30 min after school lets out. Not much in the way of dedication to the students. Outside music classes are offered at a fee, but very limited to string instruments only-no piano or guitar offered. I feel as though more of our hard earned dollars that we use to pay for a good strong catholic education at this school is spent more on keeping the grounds perfectly manicured as opposed to investing it in our childrens education here.


St Paul Of The Cross School 0
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
I completely agree with yet another parents review here, this school is most definitely more like a day care rather than an educational facility and I say this across all grade levels.

St Paul Of The Cross School 4

Posted September 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Paul Of The Cross School
140 South Northwest Highway, Park Ridge, IL  60068
(847) 939-3603
Last modified St Paul Of The Cross School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Paul Of The Cross School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top