Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Embers Elementary School

Private | PK-5 | 134 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Park Ridge

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $310,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2014

Embers Elementary is like a home away from home! I feel very secure sending my 3 children to this school knowing that they are receiving the best in terms of academics, virtues, and moral education. The staff and administration go out of their way to make you feel at home and even come outside to greet all children in the morning so they get a good start to the day! What service! The national testing tend to be 20 points higher than average at this school. We feel confident that our children are learning more than just about books. The exemplar character of the administration and teachers is transparent and evident as they transmit these qualities to the children. They plant seeds of generosity, honesty, faith, justice just to name a few and truly watch those virtues grow into strong roots that will last a lifetime. Truly these children become the ember sparks and light to our world. We are eternally grateful to have such a wonderful school compliment the education of our children! We highly recommend this school and know that you will be highly satisfied with the character potential that this school transmits to your family! A Catholic school gem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2014

Embers is an outstanding Catholic school. It has very high academic standards and focus on each child's individual needs. The students are one year ahead in Math in every grade and they will accommodate your child to move up even higher if they are strong in the subject. They have outstanding Terra Nova testing results every year compared to all other elementary schools in Illinois. Not only does Embers top in academics, but also is excellent in character formation. The children are taught solid, true Catholic formation which is hard to find in even the other Catholic schools today. The teachers and faculty are dedicated to the children and parent involvement is impressive. I've been sending my children to this school for many years and I can see them grow not only in academic excellence, but also in good moral behavior and virtues. It has a unique and close-knit environment where children thrive. I would definitely recommend this school to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2014

What was once great is now turning into a disaster. I don't know what happened to this once former gem of a school but all I know is that it is falling flat on its face. HALF of the teachers have left on their own this year. Several parents have pulled their kids out. The school is moving to a different location, why? The Kindergarten, Fourth and Fifth grade teachers left the school because of a poor administration, lousy pay and an absent school board. It appears that the principle, Mrs. Davis, does not seem to care which is not a surprise as a parent trying to work with her all you get is empty promises or a blank stare. We paid a lot of money to send our kids to this school and it is falling apart at the seams. I blame the principle and the school board for their lack of concern and sloppy handling of internal and external affairs. How do you loose teachers that have been there for years? How? This school needs a new administration from the top down and even then I don't know if it will help anymore. When the boss can not lead any longer then that person should recognize that and step down for the sake of the children and the parents who are PAYING to put them there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2013

Embers does a great job in taking care of its students and teaching the key virtues. The teachers are caring and take pride in making sure the students are being developed to be respectful and responsible adults. Our daugther loves going to school and has a very positve attitude to learning. The school really creates a great environment for learning and becoming a good person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2013

The only regret I have is that I transferred my daughter until 4th grade.. but I guess is never too late. Best school ever! Mrs. Davis is a jewel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2011

I'm a parent of 2 & very glad I found embers. My daughter now in kindergarden and attended pre-k(4) last year, my son attended Embers during his 4th & 5th grade years & is now a 7th grader at Northridge Prep in Niles, Embers really excels at what they do & Mrs. Davis the principal absolutely cares for every child. I love that their curriculum is 1 year more advanced that public schools & the test scores for the school overall are impressive. The parental community is a very close nit "community" as well as very welcoming to newcomers. The curriculum is challenging to the kids, and they have a great handle on spotting the challenges of the children & working with them. A few examples impressed me tremendously. Mrs. Kestler 4th/5th grade teacher (and math specialist) saw that my son didn't find math challenging enough (in 5th grade they do 6th grade level) so she encouraged him to try the 7th grade math and tutored him in class individually. That was amazing! Mrs. Mersch 4th/5th grade has the children write an essay every week, breaking it down daily so they find it easy. She also played Jeopary questions in class to help them learn. Learning is fun & I couldn't be a happier parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Very student need orientated. Insures each student receives the direction and help they require.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2009

The 5th grade class TOPPED the Terra Nova National Testing with the ENTIRE CLASS AVERAGING (!) in the top 8 percentile in the USA! Mathematics was TOP 5%-- cannot be beat. It speaks for itself. Overall the the AVERAGE student rated in top 14 percent in the nation after attendance here. Catholic Values make this THE school of choice for us. TOPS ALL CATHOLIC SCHOOL EDUCATION THAT WE CAN FIND. We love it. If you are Catholic and care about your kids this is the place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

We heard a lot about the Catholic values taught, the caring families and the high education standards. After three graduates of the school we could not be more pleased! The outgoing 5th grade class (2009) was rated 92nd percentile overall in the nation (all subjects). They, as a class, were also rated in the Top 5% in mathematics! -- If you are a parent who wants the best for your children, a parent who cares about both their education, character growth and Catholic values then this IS the school for you. We took the chance... Best decision of our life.... The teachers are fabulous and the principal - well - without question the best you will ever meet. PK3 through 5th is excellent. We recommend taking PK through 5th- its a program of growth!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2008

We actually decided to move to Park Ridge because of this excellent small school. Small class size,personal attention,emphasis on good work habits,character formation,mathematics is +1 grade advanced in all classes etc. For families that care about their childs environment, friends and personal growth. We love it. The children are prepared to excell in future challenging private Catholic school environments of The Willows Academy for Girls in Des Plaines, IL and Northridge Prep for Boys in Niles (both within 8-10 minutes of Embers Elementary). This gives a comprehensive PK through 12 education with same goals & solid virtue and intellectual skill building environments all within a short distance.We can send both our boys and girls on to middle school and high school at these two other excellent schools to complete their training. Many parents at the Embers take advantage of this 'triangulation' of schools. Oh, yes the very best religion instruction too!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 51%
Hispanic 19% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Black 3% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Gladys Davis
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2000 West Sibley Street
Park Ridge, IL 60068
Phone: (847) 518-1185

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Pk Ridge Intl Mont
Park Ridge, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT