Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Valeska Hinton Early Ch Ed Center

Public | PK-1 | 375 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2013

My school is Valeska Hinton Early Childhood Education Center. I believe that their dedication to excellence is shown through their students' achievements. I believe the experiences that are set up for these children are thought out as practical, creative, self-help promoting, and character building. The view of the whole child is seen as the staff carry out their lesson plans in the classroom, "kitchenettes", and outdoor play! All thought processes include gross motor and this is achieved through outdoor and indoor play areas. I like to go through the building and just listen to the active play and the teachers putting forth their patience and effective teaching strategies to help the children achieve their skill building. I also believe it is very helpful for the school to continue to allow people who are wanting a program like theirs in the city they are in. It is the greatest compliment when a group of people have gotten together and all exclaim how they would like to try and duplicate the Valeska Hinton Early Child Education Center! I believe that others should know the villiage it takes to help a child on their way to be a contributing good citizen.


Posted May 22, 2013

Valeska-Hinton is a wonderful school! My daughter has been attending since pre-K and is now finishing 1st grade. The staff and teachers are genuinely dedicated and caring. The school itself fosters a spirit of unity & pride among all the children. I have seen my daughter blossom socially, emotionally and intellectually thanks to Valeska. I love that she has been able to see an in-house speech therapist, and I also love the "fill the bucket" idea at the school that teaches my daughter empathy and giving to others. In fact we love everything about this school and we're going to miss Valeska!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2011

There is no better preschool in central Illinois! Our daughter attended for two years, and the intellectual stimulation and loving atmosphere were incredible. Parents are required to volunteer/spend time at school, the halls and walls are alive with artwork and science projects, they have before-and-after care, in-house speech therapists, and even a infant center. Our daughter left reading more than 3 grade levels above her age! Just as importantly, the school fostered her love of art and music, too. We loved coming in and spending time in the classroom - we'll always have these wonderful memories. If you can get in to Valeska, take advantage of your luck - your child will be grateful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My son just started at Valeska this school year and loves it there and so do I. He has blossomed so much in the last few week that didn't seem to happen in his old school. Everyone that I have come across there seems so happy to be there and be part of the school and have the best intentions for the children and family. I would highly recommend this school to any parent interested in sending their child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

Valeska has taught my child so much, it is just a continuation of the education that she receives at home. As they say, 'It takes a Village to raise a child'. I believe that you need many people to raise a child and you need to be involved. It is trully amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

Our school is proudly accredited by the National Association of the Education on Young Children. The accrediation is a very complicated process to pick out the highest quality schools. The leadership and staff is very dedicated to providing the most nurturing learning environment for children and families.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 29, 2007

Great school! My daughter is in her second year and has grown and learned so much. I love the involvement there is with family and community, it makes for some really great learning experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2005

My daughter and I love Valeska. They incorperate play experiences and learning throughout their school. They're idea of a family as a villiage is evident in all they do. Please visit their website at http://www.psd150.org/valeskahinton.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 65% 18%
White 12% 51%
Hispanic 11% 24%
Two or more races 11% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Ann Bond

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 West Romeo B Garrett Avenue
Peoria, IL 61605
Phone: (309) 672-6810

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Mark School
Peoria, IL






Kiefer School
Peoria, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT