Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kellar Primary School 5

Posted February 09, 2013
- a parent
Both of my children attend Kellar, and our experience has been very positive. The principal, Mr, Turner, is actively involved with each student and school-wide activities. The teachers have been top notch as well. I agree with a previous comment that the facilities don't look like much, but the academic content is solid. Parent involvement is high. The carnival at the school tonight proves that--it seemed like every family attended. We thought about moving to Dunlap for their "better" schools, but I see no justification to pay so much more in property taxes. I also find value in my kids' exposure to a diverse environment. This interaction at an early age prepares them for a lifetime of understanding, awareness, and confidence.

Kellar Primary School 5

Posted July 07, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is going into the 3rd grade this year at Kellar. We really love it!It is culturally diverse, challenging ciriculum and a very commited staff and principal. The parents are very, very involved with classrooms and activities.


Kellar Primary School 5

Posted May 01, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Kellar Primary School 4

Posted March 31, 2010
- a parent
Without a doubt, the best school in Dist 150. Kellar competes with other schools in quality with surrounding communities like Dunlap, Morton or local private schools. What I like about Kellar that the others can not touch is the ethnic diversity . Kellar's test scores are high, great staff that do not turn over, an active PTO and great parental involvement. Like any school, if your child has special needs, you need to advocate for your child,(one of my children is one) but I have not yet found the school to be unreasonable when approached about issues pertaining to his schooling. I would highly recommend and tell parents not to be scared off by the rest of the district's lack of progress!

Kellar Primary School 5

Posted August 12, 2009
- a parent
Everyone is so involved. It seems like there is always some picnic or after school acitivity for the whole family. I like that parents are so hands-on and the teachers are friendly to warm.


Kellar Primary School 0
no rating

Posted January 23, 2009
- a parent
Both of my daughters attend Kellar (k and 1st grade) and I love the school! The district itself is lacking in many ways but, Kellar doesn't seem to affected by this! My oldest went to another 150 school for k and this school is 100 times better! The parent involvement is wonderful and the teachers and so caring and you can tell they are proud of their school!

Kellar Primary School 0
no rating

Posted January 22, 2009
- a parent
I am not all that impressed with Kellar this year. My son is in the second grade & we are having problems. My son has ADHD & ODD & the school is fighting with me about getting him tested for extra help. To me that should be there top priority but it isnt! More than likely my child will not be attending Kellar after this year. Dist 150 as a whole is a HORRIBLE dist. if you can send your children to another dist do it

Kellar Primary School 5

Posted October 01, 2007
- a parent
Keller does a wonderful job with its students! I have had 2 children attend, and they recived a great education. The teachers and principal go out of their way to help and teach students.


Kellar Primary School 4

Posted June 21, 2006
- a parent
Kellar Primary is a great school. Having had my children in private school, we switched to Kellar and enjoy the diversity that it offers.

Kellar Primary School 4

Posted April 27, 2006
- a parent
The best public primary school in Peoria. Has the highest test scores of any school in the District. Teachers at Kellar stay at Kellar. Most have been there for many years, lots of experience. Children who attend Kellar have the best chance for being selected to test and attend Washington Gifted Middle School, the best Middle School in the State of Illinois. Very friendly school, with a wonderful principal, Ken Turner (whose own children attend the school). Safe area. The facilities don't look like much, but the the academics are excellent. Very involved PTO. Although the school district is strapped for cash, Kellar Kids don't want for anything. Private schools in the area can't compete with Kellar. Nor can Dunlap. If you can arrange it, Kellar is definitely the school you want your kids to attend.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kellar Primary School
6413 North Mount Hawley Road, Peoria, IL  61614
(309) 693-4439
Last modified Kellar Primary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kellar Primary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top