Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Family Parish School

Private | PK-8 | 19 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Peoria

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $163,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2014

Holy Family School is exactly what it says in it's name, it is a Holy Family. Families within in this school come together to help other families in need.The curriculum at Holy Family not only offers academics, but Art, Music, Computer, P.E.,Dance, and Spanish.Holy Family offers many extra-curricular such as drama, chess club, athletics, robotics, scholastic team, and so much more. The teachers here go and beyond to make sure students are getting what they need. I am alumni of this school and now send my own children here and there is no where else I could imagine them being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2011

All three of my kids attend HFS. It's a great, nurturing environment. Students are challenged academically and surrounded by teachers and staff who truly care about their success and character delopment. The students come from a variety of backgrounds and learn to accept each others differences. Most importantly, they're growing in their faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2010

All four of my children attend Holy Family School. We have been impressed by the strong Catholic identity and academics. Our children have thrived in this school -- it really is a "holy" family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Holy Family School provides my children with a great faith based foundation to their education. We have the most caring and wonderful teachers there. It truly is like a 2nd family for us and we are very fortunate to belong to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

Holy Family School provides students with a quality, faith-based education, that prepares them for high school. The school is full of caring teachers and parent volunteers. We are a family!


Posted April 26, 2010

Holy Family is a stimulating school rooted in faith. It exemplies the ideal Catholic School. The teacher/student ratio is magnificent. Every child is given individual attention and pushed to his/her full potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Holy Family Parish School in Peoria builds minds, bodies and spirits. The school really tries to live up to its name...praying and learning, respecting and serving. Our kids enjoy participating in a variety of extra-curricular activities that they couldn't find at other schools. I love that my kids always look forward to going to school! They love to learn and that's thanks in large part to the Holy Family faculty, staff and families who work together to make it a special place for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Holy Family School continues to provide its students with a quality, faith-based education, that prepares them for high school and provides a firm foundation for higher learning and the basis to become strong citizens of our country.


Posted April 25, 2010

Such great school and teachers! Would move back to Peoria from Chicago just to have my son go there if we could!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

All of our children attended this school years ago and received an excellent education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

This school is full of caring teachers and compassionate families who take the school name and mission seriously. We ARE a Holy Family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Christ-centered character development. Culturally diverse community of learners. Emphasis on performing arts. Dedicated teachers. Students experience faith-in-action through service opportunities and various celebrations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

The education and the friends for life.I also went to Holy Family and now I send my kids there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Holy Family Parish School has provided my four children with an excellent academic and spiritual formation. Two of my children have graduated from Holy Family and went on to attend Peoria Notre Dame High School -- one graduated third in his class at PND and the other is ranked in the top ten percent of her class. My youngest two children are still attending Holy Family and are having a great experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

All 4 of my children have attended or are currently attending Holy Family Parish School. My 2 older daughters, now in high school, are doing very well both academically and socially. I firmly believe the values and morals they learned while attending Holy Family is largely responsible for making them the young women they are today. It is this foundation that will guide my children throughout their lives and shape them into well-rounded adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

Outstanding! Excellent staff, responsive to parents and a growing Arts program. The school lives up to it's name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

No spanish teacher anymore. Music teacher, in charge of the annual spring recital, for which students are required to prepare all year long an participate, accepted a role in a stage play in town and went AWOL, resulting in the weakest offering we've witnessed in our many years at this school. Students in some classrooms report they've seen the pastor twice all year. Pastor was neither present, nor did he participate in the numerous First Communion retreats for kids and parents. Parish attendance at mass is in decline, because of arms-length demeanor of pastor. School next intends to merge classrooms in some grades, leaving a potential 30:1 teacher/student ratio looming in some classes. Holy Family is breaking our hearts, to see its decline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

Very unhelpful to students with problems - they don't challenge, mediocre in most things. Teacher quality is uneven - some very good, others pretty poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2007

I currently have three children attending Holy Family. Our oldest graduates this year and based on testing was placed in all honors classes at a competitive college-prep high school. Holy Family students who work hard are very well prepared for high school. Extracurricular activities include various sports, band, orchestra, dance, drama, Scholastic Bowl, speech(declamations), chess and robotics clubs. Spanish is a required subject in pre-k through eighth grade, music is required pre-k through fifth grade. Students receive excellent and orthodox religious education and sacrament preparation. The teachers and administration are accessible to parents, energetic and willing to do whatever they can to assist my children, including helping one of my kids navigate some difficult social situations. The home/school communication is quite open. No school is perfect, but we found Holy Family offers strong academics, authentic Catholic teaching and development of all aspects of the students in a culturally diverse atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

I believe they do have a good academic program but it needs improving, also currently the only use for the computers is for games and I would like to see them used instead for educational purposes. I believe that they are sadly lacking in communication as far as certain teachers are concerned and the teachers aren't given the skills to help the children that are having social problems within their class and no plan of action if there is a reacurring problem. The current principal is more concerned with how things look on the outside versus what truly is going on within the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 51%
Two or more races 15% 3%
Hispanic 11% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 4%
Black 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Therese A Schmidt
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Peoria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2329 West Reservoir Boulevard
Peoria, IL 61615
Phone: (309) 688-2931

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT