Advertisement
Advertisement

St Vincent De Paul

Private | PK-8 | 494 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Peoria

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $124,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 25, 2014

I believe this school has started to get worse in and out of classrooms. Many times it seems as if one person were to get in trouble then many others get punished. Every year it seems as if a new priest comes to the church. The school is good in academics and athletics but needs a better social atmosphere.


Posted December 7, 2012

Complete lack of discipline at the school. The teachers and lunchtime monitors have no control over the students other than yelling at them. Though the teacher to child interaction is alright, your child will probably end up being more spoiled going to this school than a public one, just because of the lack of discipline.


Posted February 6, 2012

this school is the best school my son will ever go to! First I took my son to Washington Gifted and I hated it and St. Phil's not very good either. But then I went to St. Vincent and it was the best school ever. It is not only the best school in academics but they are also very good in sports. If i was looking for a new school, without even looking, pick St. Vincent's. Their atmosphere is great too. They have the nicest people there. Believe me, GO TO ST.VINCENT'S!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2011

St. Vincent de Paul School has provided my children with an excellent education thus far. The teachers and staff are dedicated and caring individuals that have high expectations for their students. The parents, teachers, staff, clergy, and parish members make this school a wonderful community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

St. Vincent de Paul School has so many dedicated staff and faculty members. The school was recently honored receiving a National Blue Ribbon Award for its outstanding academics. The families that attend the school make it the great faith-based and family-oriented place it is!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2011

Althought St. VdP has had great academic success, the social atmosphere is terrifying. Social bullying and gossip is a huge problem and the students and parents are allowed to run the school. The policies in place are not followed , as administration choses what to follow. Unless the student and parent is extremely, actively involved in the school (almost daily), chances are the student will survive not at this school. Other students are pushed around and have no rights. This culture is masked by the Catholic name. This school does not seek the Truth but only money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

St. Vincent de Paul School provides an outstanding academic program while keeping the primary focus of educating students in the faith of the Catholic Church and developing spirituality. St. Vincents has a beautiful school climate in which students, parents, teachers, faculty and staff, parishioners, and priests are all part of a large family. Student achievement is notable at St. Vincent as the school consistently scores in the top tenth percentile among area schools. Students and faculty participate in liturgy, prayer, and scripture frequently. St. Vincent also has strong extra curricular activities including athletics, scholastic teams, robotics, drama, student government, newspaper, and more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2010

Best Educated and best taught school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2009

The school was recently renovated, and I think the new changes are excellent. My daughter is in seventh grade and she really enjoys it. The junior high department is very diverse and wears different uniforms than the rest of the school. The lockers are nice, and the new gym is large and spacious. Although they could use more extra curricular activities, this school has been a favorite of our family for over 10 years. I love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 60%
Two or more races 4% N/A
Asian 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Black 1% 20%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
Hispanic 1% 16%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. James M Minick
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Peoria
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6001 North University Street
Peoria, IL 61614
Phone: (309) 691-5012

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT