Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Concordia Lutheran School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Peoria

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $124,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2014

The teachers are loving and committed to caring for the students. However, there are definitely opportunities for improvement overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

Concordia Lutheran School has wonderful academics, surrounded by a fantastic school community that helps each child thrive. Love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2012

Excellent faculty and administration. I drive 25 miles to this school each day! Love this school and my three kids love this school. Over 20 foreign language options and Gateway to Technology program. Music appreciation, Multiple bands for 4-8, Strings program for K-8, Art, Religion, PE, and all the rest that most schools are eliminating. Each teacher has an ipad and every room has a smartboard. Concordia is a non-denominational Christian school. You can't go wrong! LOVE IT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2009

With new leadership in the past year, Concordia has grown even more outstanding. Strong academics, leadership, parent involvement and faith puts this school at the top of the list!


Posted December 11, 2007

When it came time to send my daughter to kindergarten, I was unsure where to go. I went to schools in District 150 while my husband was a graduate of Concordia. I ended up attending 'Discover Concordia', an event that allows you to tour the school, gain insight into the curriculum and co-curricular activites as well as meet the teachers. Halfway through the event, I knew I would be sending my child to this school. I was fortunate enough to attend Washington Gifted and quite frankly, I was going to be hard to impress. Four years have passed and I am still thrilled with the decision I made. If you are looking for a quality education that incorporates strong faith and good values, look no further than Concordia.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2007

Concordia is a wonderful, quality Christian School. This school is unique because not only does it excel in academics, we incorportate Christ in your child's everyday activities. The teachers have many years of experience, class sizes are small, and your child can participate in many extracurricular activities. We are a family at Concordia. I have never heard of a school doing teacher home visits anywhere else, but our teachers will visit your child at your home before the first day of school. Concordia has been established for over 40 years in the Peoria community, you do not have to be a Lutheran to attend Concordia either. I currently have a freshman high school student who has been very well prepared, and I also have 2 other children still at Concordia and we have been very pleased with how the school has prepared our girls in all aspects of their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

My daughter is a kindergarten student at Concordia and I am soooooo glad we chose this school. The teachers are very nurturing and the families are so nice. Our daughter has learned so much already this year and has become much more responsible. Two thumbs up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2005

I am a parent of a child who graduated from this school a few years back. I'm not sure if i like the eighth grade pre-algebra program. My child had to take integrated math when she got into highschool (which is pretty much pre-algebra all over again) because the math teacher wasn't able to help my child for some reason. I think you should have Carly Behrends teach all the math classes because she is a very good teacher and makes sure her students understand what they are working on. This school has very good teachers overall but you need a new eighth grade pre-algebra teacher. Thank you for reading this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

concordia is a great school for kids to learn a lot , im sure you will fill the same.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 51%
Black 2% 18%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Hispanic 1% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Paul Thompson
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2000 West Glen Avenue
Peoria, IL 61614
Phone: (309) 691-8921

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT