Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Central Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
The staff and the teachers are very good and talented and care so much for the kids. Teachers go out of their way so the children are happy and have a great school experience.

Central Elementary School 5

Posted April 04, 2010
- a parent
Great school with the best Principal and teachers. Really like parent involvement and works together with the parents.


Central Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
Central Elementary in Plainfield IL is a great school. Both of my kids go there and the staff and administration is incredible. The principal cares deeply and communicates with parents which is great.

Central Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2007
- a parent
My twins went through Central Elementary recenty for their whole elementary school experience. The staff and administration are amazing, caring people. My children were more than prepared for middle school

Central Elementary School 5

Posted August 10, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Central Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2006
- a parent
I have had 3 years of experience with Central School and I believe they are above excellent. My child was struggling and they caught the situation, put her in the programs that she needs to help her not only gain academically but in her confidence also. They worked with her several times a week and still are. All of this and she has never felt like she was separate from the other kids. The teachers never embarrassed her and were always there to support her. I can not tell you how much I love this school and support it. They might not have the best test scores, but they give the extra attention to the children, and are not letting them fall through the cracks. Excellent school.

Central Elementary School 5

Posted March 26, 2006
- a parent
Excellent school. The staff is the greatest they really care about the students.

Central Elementary School 2

Posted January 10, 2006
- a parent
My experience with the schools has been tragic! There is lots of hoopla about Plainfield schools and how great they are but, reality proves different. My son is a first grader at Central. Guided reading is used to teach students how to read.Phonics and phonemic awareness are not incorporated in the reading lesson.Therefore, my son has memorized stories but can't read words in isolation or any other text.He can't read or write and he has no strategies for doing so. No other strategies or remediation are incorporated in the teaching. It's the parents responsibility to teach their children to read! Hey! Whose getting paid for this? The math program isn't any better!Once again, the programs is vague. There are no afterschool tutoring programs or sports programs. Furthermore, classrooms are overcroweded and students who need individual attention are left behind! What happened to NCLB?


Central Elementary School 5

Posted November 14, 2005
- a parent
My daughter is in am kinder. I love her teacher. I am invovled w/ the pta and every meeting is very informative. All of the staff at this school is very invovled.

Central Elementary School 4

Posted July 06, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Central Elementary School
23723 West Getson Avenue, Plainfield, IL  60544
(815) 436-9278
Last modified Central Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Central Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top