Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Mary Immaculate Parish School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Plainfield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $197,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 20, 2013

My family loves St. Mary Immaculate. My cousins kids all loved it, my nephews attend it currently with my two kids. We have had no complaints about any aspect. Sending our kids here is a struggle for us but feel it's the best thing we can do for them. I only hope I will be able to help out at the school more in the coming years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

We've been very happy with this school and will be sending our second child there next year. To address the negative reviews - the fundraising is absolutely necessary due to the fact that this is not a public school. The parish drops a hefty sum of money to keep the school running in addition to the tuition collected. There's also the problem of families not paying on time or not paying at all. I feel that the level of education my child has received has been far and away better than what she would have received from the public schools in Plainfield. Just reading the reviews of those schools will tell you that. Is it easy? No. There's some work involved vs. just sending your kids to public school and never needing to interact with the school yourself. But, in my mind, it's absolutely worth it. A child's educational foundation is everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

Excellent education. Caring and dedicated teachers. Focused on children and growing them educationally, religiously and community-centric.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2012

My children have been attending SMI for a few years and they love it. I love the teachers, principal and vice principal. I like that everyone is involved in the kids education including the parents.Sometimes it may feel like alot of work but the outcome has been great. It's a team effort.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2011

Loved St. Mary Immaculate School. We only were with you two years but were very happy with the school. Our family moved to Florida thats the only reason for leaving. This school has such nice families. They welcome you with open arms. You were like family and we will miss you. The Little's
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2011

I love this school as I have been at this school since kindergarden. The principal and vice principal are very nice but firm. They are the best leadership that I have seen the whole time I was here, and there has been at least five different principals/vice principals in the time that I was here. As in any school, there is a teacher or two that is not the nicest and shows a bit of favoritism. My parents do not volunteer as much as some and I feel that I am treated the same as any other student in the school. The teachers are understanding and are willing to stay after school to help us study or to go over a lesson that we do not get. The grade school teachers are the nicest teachers I have met and if I am walking through the hall they still say "Hi how are you?" It is a very family based atmosphere at this school. The math class is split into three groups based on skill so that you can work at your own pace. The only thing at this school that is not up to par is the resource program. Until my family threatened to leave did they begin to pay attention to this program.


Posted July 18, 2010

SMI is a very good environment for children. The educational standards exceed the local school districts...except at the special needs level. Children receive an excellent foundation in education and Christian values. There will always be teacher's pets at every school...it's human nature. Regarding tuition and fees...they are on par with other private schools and receive no funding per child from the state so all costs must be covered by the parents an/or parish...nothing unusual. A lot of families work very hard for free to provide numerous additional activities and experiences for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Decent class sizes, teachers that are truly dedicated to teaching and who love to do it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

The new principal this year is very enthusiastic about the school and the children. It is a pleasure to see someone who is involved and wants to see the children succeed. The asst. principal is involved and has done a great job keeping parents up to date using green methods (website). The teachers are dedicated. The kids seem to enjoy their experience. I am pleased to see that my daughter is experiencing horizontal learning so not only is she studying what her class is but additional studies are given to her to keep her mind active. Well done! I am quite pleased about sending my child to the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

All this school cares about is the money. Everything that you don't do, you must pay for. If you don't sell all your raffel tickets, you pay! It's ridiculous. Also, since I am a student, I feel that the Junior High there is very hard and more like a competition. There are fights (not like fist fights) between friends a lot and it is kind of clique-y. Also, it doesn't offer as many extracurriculers as I would like it to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

I'm an 8th grader at SMI. I've been here since kindergraden and before me both my sisters went here. I've had the best years of my life here. Yes the school has its probelms but which schools don't. I have a sense of family with my classmates and even though yes we do have an 'in' crowd but it doesn't control school. We still look out for and love each other no matter what group were in. Most teachers are great and they have prepared me for high school. yes some teachers are not excatly the best or nicest but its good to learn to deal with them before you get to high school. I have made many friendships, memories, and traditions here at SMI.I have learned about myself at SMI. I love this school and will miss it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

I couldn't be happier at SMI. Having been in the Plainfield public schools I find it hard to believe anyone would complain. Many of the children in the public schools are not getting the help they are entitled to and parents have to fight for the limited help they do get. I have always felt welcomed by the teachers and other parents. My oldest is now in high school and she is excelling duen to her experience at SMI. I'm sure there is some favoritism but I found that at our other school too. There is good and bad at all schools and you have to decide what you're going to focus on. I have found much more good then bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

When we switched to SMI I new right away I woukdn't like it here. They pick favorites and you can definitely tell. It is ok I guess but I ahve seen better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2007

We had the misfortune of having our children attend this school for three horrible years - kept hoping something would change. The disorganization is unbelievable. This was the worst experience for our family. We thank God we got out when we did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

We switched to St. Mary's because we wanted the structure of a Catholic School and an atmosphere of faith. The first 2 years were great! Unfortunately, this year has been horrible. There was a change in leadership, and the new principal is more interested in sports and keeping the wealthy families, volunteers and teachers happy. There is a great lack of concern for children with additional educational needs. District 202 provides funding for these children, but since the amount was cut this year, the pricipal decided to use the funds for the children with speech issues (who are the minority). They have provided their own Resource Teacher, but there are up to 10 children in her class at one time. Our daughter no longer gets the help she needs. Again, favoritism is high in this school, and this is an area where that prevails. I miss the 'family' once enjoyed here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2006

St. Mary's is a private/Catholic school - of course there is fundraising. We are not supported by taxes like the public schools. I love the fact that we don't have to sell wrapping paper and candy 5 times a year. Where do you think the funding/money comes from?? The more you put into the school and the functions the more you get out of it. Of course the parents that are here helping all the time are close - they depend on each other. I wouldn't have my children in any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2006

What a big mistake for us to enroll our children at St. Mary's. They have a mandatory volunteer program for all parents and if you're not able to meet the required volunteer time, you have to pay cash to the school. Their fund raisers are also cut throat, all students are required to participate in these fund raisers, otherwise, parents get charged. I don't think their academic standards are better than other schools in the area. The preferential treatment of children who's parents are teachers or with the 'in' group is staggering.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2006

St. Mary Immaculate is an amazing school. I have attended this school for only a little over a year, and it has become my favorite place in the world. The small atmosphere and intimate envorment is great. The teachers are all wonderful people, who really care for us. We lack a little in extracurricular activies, but this is because of such a small school. With a small school comes a sense of family. At St. Marys we grow together, almost becoming a family outside of home. I dont think this review could even express the school, and how great it really is.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 3, 2005

St. Mary Immaculate is a nice school. The problems this school has relates to the principal and vice-principal. The lack of leadership and continuity here is high. Favoritism is high here as well especially for the children of the teachers. They get preferential treatment by administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2005

We have 3 children that are in the grade school as well as the junior high at SMI. They have been at this school since kindergarten and we have been very pleased with the overall education of our children. The curriculum taught at SMI is fuller and more challenging than any of the other schools in the area. Many activities are project based which encourages students to broaden their knowledge of a given content area. For the most part, the teachers are caring and very concernded with the progress of each and every student. To them, teaching is not simply a job but a career choice. Respect of self and others is highly stressed and reinforced by all members of the staff. Extra-curricular activities such as athletics, band, battle of the books and chess are available to accomadate a wide variety of interests; again, to encourage participation and involvement of all.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Hispanic 5% 24%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Black 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • John Garvey
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Joliet
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15629 Route 59
Plainfield, IL 60544
Website: Click here
Phone: (815) 436-3953

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Troy Middle School
Plainfield, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT