Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

River View Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 14, 2011

This school has done nothing but go down hill in the past 4 years. What was once a great school is now mediocre at best. For the most part the teachers are great, but there are at least a couple in each grade that don't belong in that grade level, teachers that just don't care . This is largely in part to the principal and vice principals laissez faire attitude toward their staff. They are never in the classrooms and just as rarely seen in the hallways. Good luck trying to get a hold of the principal or finding him in his office, he is rarely there, and rarely in the building except for first and last bell. I can not even begin to speculate where his time is spent, but we are surely paying for it. This school is on the Joliet border and needs to start taking a queue from the good principals over there. Trim dead weight, make administration proactive rather than reactive, and do something to help save your district in these troubling times. This school is the antithesis of that. It's such a shame that this once great school has succumbed to poor leadership, and dead weight teachers. If I were forced to live in this school's district I would pay to have my children sent elsewhere.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 26, 2009

I have had my children in this school since it opened its doors. I have had a mix of feelings about this school, but once you manage to get past the cliquish parents, and get to know the staff, you will be very pleased. Nothing has happened over night here, it has developed in time. At first the people who bought homes that were going up as the school opened felt in some way that since it was in their new back yards, that somehow they were entitled to special treatment. With the new principal, they got over that...fortunately. If you have a special needs student the staff works dilligently to try and accomodate your childs every need. I have to give this school a five, in the early years it was a 2...trust me. But with great leadership, they are getting there...hope this helped you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2009

This school is great. I have had at least one child here for the past 8 years. It has gone thru some great improvements in the past two years. Starting with the principal. The teachers and staff are happier which cascades down to the kids. Happy kids want to learn. Go River View!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

This is not the best school in the Plainfield school district. There are no communications within the school. I think its past time we stop getting calls for whats going on at the other elementary schools yet again reminding us there is no sense of community at this particular school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2007

We have had 7 wonderful years at River View. Both of my children have excelled here. The before/after school childcare (offered through the YMCA) was extremely helpful when our schedules changed. Our children have participated in after school activities such as girls scouts, mad science, art lab and soccer at the school. The family gatherings it offers allows the working parent to be more involved with their student. Both of my children have been/are in the gifted program and I think it is wonderful that they offer more challenging work to students to keep them focused. While we were quite fond of the previous principal, Mrs. Duchane, we cannot say that for the current Dr. Anderson. This is her last year with River View, so we will see what next year brings. Since 1999, we have had children at this school and could not be more happy with the staff. Kudos!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2006

This school fine. I have only one issue, they provide no early childcare for parents that have to work. The late starting time is really difficult and considering my child only needs to be in childcare for an hour before starting time, I don't want to pay a lot of money for daycare. Early morning onsite care would be great for 1st thru 5th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2006

We love River View and Mrs Matas and Mr Anderson. We relocated from out of state last year and our children loved this school. Our son was in 1st grade and he was very advanced in reading. His teacher saw that and gave him the encouragement to excel even more. Our daughter received straight A's, just like in her old school. We were very happy with River View and had not problems at all adjusting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2006

This school is awful. We pulled our son after 3 months of learning nothing in first grade. It is overcrowded, and does not challenge a child who needs it. We asked his teacher for extra work, because he was bored, and she sent home a paper asking him to write his numbers 1-40. My preschooler does that! The teacher actually told me, that they didn't have time to work with kids who needed an extra challenge, they needed to focus more on the children that were behind. How sad that he was neglected for being smart!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2006

Good school, I always felt my child was safe. The facilities were clean and the staff was helpful and encouraging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2006

Great school. The teachers are friendly and the parents are involved. Glad my kids go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

We have recently removed our child from Riverview. 99% of the staff are just excellent people. The top 1% also runs the place. Also- the child to teacher ration has gone up from 1/19 in entry level to 1/3 four years later. Based on the Principal leadership 1 is the lowest I can go. I would go lower if I could.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2004

I am new to this district with a 2nd grade student. I am very happy with the school so far. I have had concerns about whether or not my child has a learning disability and found the teacher and the rest of the staff both knowledgeable and considerate in their efforts. The previous schools that he attended ignored the fact that he was having trouble. Within 2 weeks the teacher noticed and contacted me! I like the school and am extremely satisfied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2004

In regards to the previous review, we have found River View to be more than we expected. My son and daughter are in a speech class that is 1 on 1 with a speech teacher. The school is air conditioned and have noticed the kids are healthier and less prone to get sick. The kids bring homework home which we spend some time going over it with them. My wife runs one of the girl scouts groups out of this school and we enjoyed the basketball league during the winter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2004

RiverView offers no after school activities, no tutoring, basically no help! I have had a child in this school for 3 years and I know that I have taught her more than they have. This school is not prepared for any problems they might come across. I feel my child has lost 3years of her education living here! I know there's a big hipe on Plainfield schools, but I say don't believe it! Cheap houses cheap schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female68%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income67%
Not low income68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)60%
Students without disabilities70%
English language learners39%

Reading

All Students75%
Female80%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Low income70%
Not low income76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)40%
Students without disabilities83%
English language learners23%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female71%
Male71%
Black60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Low income50%
Not low income77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)44%
Students without disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students70%
Female75%
Male65%
Black60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Low income63%
Not low income72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)32%
Students without disabilities79%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students90%
Female88%
Male91%
Black90%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Low income90%
Not low income90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)72%
Students without disabilities94%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female58%
Male63%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White62%
Low income44%
Not low income65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)25%
Students without disabilities65%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female77%
Male74%
Black55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Low income59%
Not low income80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)35%
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value table growth scores from the state of Illinois.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 51%
Hispanic 22% 24%
Black 6% 18%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Joseph Simpkins

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2097 Bronk Road
Plainfield, IL 60586
Phone: (815) 439-4840

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT