Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Adams Elementary School

Public | K-3 | 342 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2012

My son attends Adams School and I am thoroughly impressed. We went back and forth trying to decide between private and public in Quincy. My son attended a private preschool and we were planning on private education. However, he has a special needs brother that requires the public school system and whose needs simply won't be met at private school. Therefore, we decided we wanted them both in the same system, so we went with public. I adore Adams and the staff. Lots of parent/child days and activities, zero tolerance for bullying, caring teachers, and a wonderful leader whom I don't know personally, but when I have dealt with her, I've had nothing but success. Very please with Adams, and I don't regret our decision!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Adams school has assisted our foster child (soon to be our adopted child) in many ways. Our child is hearing impaird. Adams school is staffed with a hearing impaired teacher, an audiologist, and a speech therapist. All whom have played a very important role in our child's learning abilities. Due to this, our child is now in a 'normal hearing class' with students of his age. Adams school is equipped with an FM system which enables our son to hear the teacher clearly. He is very smart and because of the help and support of the staff at Adams school he is doing exceedingly well in his studies. It is very obivious that the staff at Adams school is dedicated to ensure their students educational needs are being met. I beleive they go above and beyond the call of duty!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Adams is the most diverse and accomodating school in the county!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Awesome kids, winning teachers, and great administrators. All working together to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

We are new to Adams this year. The school is clean and well maintained. The teachers and staff are caring and accommodating to special needs and requests. I am confident that my children are receiving a strong foundation on which to build their future education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

Adams Elementary is a great place.the teachers are very friendly.and care about each child.the principle is very loving with each and every child.go alligators!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

Adams Elementary School is our home. Teachers and staff create an encompassing environment for families that facilitates academic and social success! Go Alligators!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

Adams school is very warm and welcoming! they have a great community!


Posted September 27, 2009

Adams Elementary is a wonderful school that encourages all students to do their best! Students feel welcome and loved as soon as they walk through the doors!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2008

The entire staff is warm and friendly. We transfered our daughter here when we moved into the area from another local school and they have been amazing making her welcome and the curriculum was a step in the right direction. They have wonderful after schoolevents that welcome the entire family. We enjoy what she has to tell us when she comes home each night. She moves through the reading levels with ease as learning is fun for her now!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2004

My child went to Adams School and she made alot of friends there. The staff is friendly ,and I think this is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students48%
Female50%
Male47%
Black30%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White51%
Low income48%
Non-low income48%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
Students without disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students53%
Female61%
Male45%
Black50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White52%
Low income50%
Non-low income61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
Students without disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 51%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Black 6% 18%
Asian 1% 4%
Hispanic 1% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Marcey Wells

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2001 Jefferson Street
Quincy, IL 62301
Phone: (217) 222-2530

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Chaddock School
Quincy, IL


St Peter School
Quincy, IL


Madison School
Quincy, IL



Berrian School
Quincy, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT