Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public
River Grove, IL
Students enrolled: 591

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


River Grove Elementary School 1

Posted September 23, 2013
- a community member
It's awfull. Thats all i have to say! Actually have the kids learn something! Omg

River Grove Elementary School 3

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
The teachers do a good job of teaching the children. Some are naturally better than others, but they all seem to be caring and relatively professional. The school administration is not very effective or consistent. Arbitrary punishments are handed out when necessary. None based on severity of the crime, but rather they are based on whatever mood the disciplinarians are in on any given day. The administration has a poor record of addressing bullying (of all types) in a proper or serious manner. The Director of Student Services? She lacks professionalism and is disinterested. Parents generally do not like or respect her work or attitude. All in all, the school is a bit above average, but could be so much better if everyone was on the same page, and put forth the effort to make it great!


River Grove Elementary School 5

Posted March 01, 2013
- a parent
The school is great with the students that needs major help to the academically gifted/honors. The teachers encourage the kids to want to learn, and try to make it fun to learn. If your child needs speech therapy this is the place to go, the school provides it to the students for free. The school also prepares the students very well for high school, good enough to test into the top high schools if they choose.

River Grove Elementary School 3

Posted February 28, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been going to this school since kindergarten. She has a math teacher that is very mean she says. She dosent want to move but ive been telling her if you don't like the teacher we can move out to your cousins shes say no. I want to stay here with my friends.

River Grove Elementary School 3

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
Overall, the teachers are pretty good and seem to care. Sadly- the old principal has been promoted to superintendant and he is not good for this school. But-thankfully they got an outside person to take his position as principal. The lady in charge of discipline is completely ineffective and should be removed from that school.


River Grove Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2008
- a parent
This school is great I feel very comfortable taking my three (3) kids here.

River Grove Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 03, 2008
- a parent
I think this school is wonderful. I have a son that goes to this school. This is our second year here and i have to tell you there very involved with each and every student. They take care of any bad activities that they think is going on. They show leadership and im a very happy parent for sending my child there

River Grove Elementary School 5

Posted May 14, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


River Grove Elementary School 4

Posted February 07, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

River Grove Elementary School 4

Posted January 31, 2008
- a parent
I wish there were more activities after school. Such as sports, clubs and band. I think that the school is in need of gifted programs for those kids who excel in certain areas.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

River Grove Elementary School
2650 Thatcher Avenue, River Grove, IL  60171
(708) 453-6172
Last modified River Grove Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
River Grove Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top