Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


A F Ames Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2013
- a parent
The best teacher and environment I could have ever hoped for. Everyone should have access to such a wonderful school!

A F Ames Elementary School 5

Posted July 10, 2012
- a parent
I have a 6th grader and a 4th grader, both have been at Ames since K. We love Ames and are glad we decided to move into the district before they started school. My daughter is excited ready for Hauser in the fall but she is also sad to say goodbye to Ames. The teachers are awesome and the principle is as well. Both parents and teachers are very involved and care about the childrens education.


A F Ames Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2010
- a parent
We have had children at other District 96 schools. We have found that Ames teachers really care and involved in the child life. The principal knows all the children by name. She really cares about each child like they are hers. Just an all around good school. We prefer it to other schools we have been at.

A F Ames Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
Great school, wonderful principle, best teachers, parents who cares, happy, smart kids.

A F Ames Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
that all the parents are involved the teachers are wonderful


A F Ames Elementary School 5

Posted January 23, 2009
- a parent
We have had two children at Ames for the past 6 years. The younger is in first grade, so we can compare changes over time. The school keeps getting better and better! The teachers really love to teach and they offer a wide range of programs to enrich the student experience. The district is struggling with space issues - all classes are at preferred capacity (about 20 children per class) , but the educational experience seems to keep getting better.

A F Ames Elementary School 4

Posted November 02, 2007
- a parent
We love this school. Parents, teachers and principal, PTA and school staff work great together. Parent participation is a key element and welcomed. Small school with limited space limits activities,so they could use improvement there. Cultural program offers grea chance fo kids to broaden the small comunity feel and thin beyond our comminities. Communication is good to fair/ while it does come out , needs slightly more information to answer questions or more advanced notice.

A F Ames Elementary School 2

Posted May 20, 2006
- a parent
poor leadership; poor run special education services; uncooperative with parents; very good teachers, board of education insensitive to parent requests; limited technology program.


A F Ames Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2005
- a parent
I have two children at Ames and I am extremely happy with the quality of education they are receiving. A great deal of emphasis is put on reading, composition and math. Moreover, attention is also placed on cultural arts with special programs and hands on projects. Our PTA is very active and provides many programs and opportunities for all the children. The school is an old building with lots of character and many sculptures made by the children. The staff has great enthusiasm and it is apparent when you walk through the building. Our principal is very involved with the children and always makes herself available to parents. The small class sizes (most under 20) create an excellent learning environment where the students get lots of attention from their teacher. I feel so lucky that my children are attending a school that they love and want to be at everyday.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

A F Ames Elementary School
86 Southcote Road, Riverside, IL  60546
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (708) 447-0759
Last modified A F Ames Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top