Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rock Island High School 1

Posted March 31, 2014
- a student
I currently attend Rocky and this poor excuse for a highschool simply needs work, I dont know what the money is being put towards but they need better budgeting skills. The outdated books arent helping either. They should fire all staff here and rehire more qualified teachers.The students are pure lazy as a whole.

Rock Island High School 3

Posted September 26, 2013
- a community member
Rock Island High School has a large variety of students with caring professionals that are focused on making RIHS students the best they can be. Overall, a splendid school, staff, and student population to work with!


Rock Island High School 4

Posted June 09, 2013
- a teacher
Rocky as it is known is an interesting educational experience. About two thirds of the teachers in Rock Island have their master's degrees and in some schools their Doctorates. Rocky is the primary public high school that serves Rock Island and boosts among other: one of best athletic programs in the state, an active community offering drama, speech, an excellent art department and a conscious about community. The number of students going on to become great citizens is too numerous to share, but if you are looking for some of the best teachers in science, art, music, social sciences, ESL, and physical education look no further. Did I forget math and English? For those who need that special assistance, counseling and the professionals in special services are great. The diversity of the student population represents an opportunity in culture, humanities and education from some of our graduates who play sports for top 10 academic powerhouses, national merit finalists or community leaders. My only hope for this great tradition of learning is that more stricter guidelines for student behavior are followed as the nation embarks on a new platform called Common Core.

Rock Island High School 1

Posted November 11, 2012
- a student
I am currently going to rocky from Denver and this school is TERRIBLE don't come here you won't like it the academics are horrendous only 30 percent of the school pass the state testing DO NOT COME HERE.

Rock Island High School 5

Posted May 10, 2012
- a community member
Rock Island High School is by far the best choice in the area. It has the highest number honor graduates of all the other schools in the area. The staff is committed to bring out the best in their students. Very innovative with curriculum. A progressive school that thinks out of the box. I am a graduate of Rocky and proud of it.


Rock Island High School 5

Posted February 11, 2009
- a student
A true Academic Diamond in the rough.

Rock Island High School 4

Posted April 27, 2005
- a student
I went to Rocky and graduated in 2001, I currently attend a top 10 University and will be graduating in June. For a small town high school Rocky had some AMAZING teachers, however, they taught primarily advanced level classes. As far as I know the teachers I remember have since retired and have not been appropriately replaced. I do believe if you have a capable son or daughter Rocky can give them the necessary knowledge to go to and succeed at a good school. I also think their sports teams were pretty successful and Rocky parents and past grads love to support the teams and the school.

Rock Island High School 3

Posted February 24, 2004
- a student
I think it is a good school if you are college bound. In short, there are some really good teachers (i.e. make lessons relevant to students and care about the students on a personal level) but you have to be lucky or try to get them.


Rock Island High School 4

Posted September 09, 2003
- a community member
I am not a parent I am a Rocky graduate of the year of 97 if you look at the statistics we dont really meet the teacher, student racio. There more students than teachers which makes learning hard and that is the way it has always been!! They need to hire more teachers to give students more one on one attention!!!

Rock Island High School 1

Posted August 22, 2003
- a parent
Need more extracurricular activites, teachers need to be hard and more firm when dealing with these kids, kids shouldnt run the schools, the teachers should

Nearby schools

Rock Island High School
1400 25th Ave, Rock Island, IL  61201
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (309) 793-5950
Last modified Rock Island High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top