Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rock Island High School 1

Posted March 31, 2014
- a student
I currently attend Rocky and this poor excuse for a highschool simply needs work, I dont know what the money is being put towards but they need better budgeting skills. The outdated books arent helping either. They should fire all staff here and rehire more qualified teachers.The students are pure lazy as a whole.

Rock Island High School 3

Posted September 26, 2013
- a community member
Rock Island High School has a large variety of students with caring professionals that are focused on making RIHS students the best they can be. Overall, a splendid school, staff, and student population to work with!


Rock Island High School 4

Posted June 09, 2013
- a teacher
Rocky as it is known is an interesting educational experience. About two thirds of the teachers in Rock Island have their master's degrees and in some schools their Doctorates. Rocky is the primary public high school that serves Rock Island and boosts among other: one of best athletic programs in the state, an active community offering drama, speech, an excellent art department and a conscious about community. The number of students going on to become great citizens is too numerous to share, but if you are looking for some of the best teachers in science, art, music, social sciences, ESL, and physical education look no further. Did I forget math and English? For those who need that special assistance, counseling and the professionals in special services are great. The diversity of the student population represents an opportunity in culture, humanities and education from some of our graduates who play sports for top 10 academic powerhouses, national merit finalists or community leaders. My only hope for this great tradition of learning is that more stricter guidelines for student behavior are followed as the nation embarks on a new platform called Common Core.

Rock Island High School 1

Posted November 11, 2012
- a student
I am currently going to rocky from Denver and this school is TERRIBLE don't come here you won't like it the academics are horrendous only 30 percent of the school pass the state testing DO NOT COME HERE.

Rock Island High School 5

Posted May 10, 2012
- a community member
Rock Island High School is by far the best choice in the area. It has the highest number honor graduates of all the other schools in the area. The staff is committed to bring out the best in their students. Very innovative with curriculum. A progressive school that thinks out of the box. I am a graduate of Rocky and proud of it.


Rock Island High School 4

Posted March 13, 2010
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Rock Island High School 5

Posted February 11, 2009
- a student
A true Academic Diamond in the rough.

Rock Island High School 5

Posted February 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Rock Island High School 2

Posted June 23, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Rock Island High School 4

Posted April 27, 2005
- a former student
I went to Rocky and graduated in 2001, I currently attend a top 10 University and will be graduating in June. For a small town high school Rocky had some AMAZING teachers, however, they taught primarily advanced level classes. As far as I know the teachers I remember have since retired and have not been appropriately replaced. I do believe if you have a capable son or daughter Rocky can give them the necessary knowledge to go to and succeed at a good school. I also think their sports teams were pretty successful and Rocky parents and past grads love to support the teams and the school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rock Island High School
1400 25th Avenue, Rock Island, IL  61201
(309) 793-5950
Last modified Rock Island High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rock Island High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top