Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rockford East High School 1

Posted June 02, 2016
- a community member
The absolute worst four years of my life. Many teachers just did not care. A vivid memory which was a good example of this: a teacher wrote an assignment on the chalkboard - Read chapter 5 and answer questions 1-10. The teacher then proceeded to sit at his desk reading a newspaper. Worthless.

Rockford East High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 02, 2016
- a community member
Chuck Wallin was not my teacher but my coach. It was honor and a privilege to run for him. I wish I would of realised just how amazing of a human being this man was. He taught me to never give up. I know he is missed by many. RIP.


Rockford East High School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted June 02, 2016
- a community member
I can only remember one effective message one of the teachers at East conveyed directly to me, "If you don't like the system - become the system (to change it).".

Rockford East High School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted June 02, 2016
- a community member
I don't remember doing much homework. There was nothing during that time to inspire or motivate me to take any books home.

Rockford East High School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted June 02, 2016
- a community member
I would have to agree here. Despite the overall education deficiency during the four years at East - I was lucky enough to attend a university years later where I excelled in academics.


Rockford East High School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted June 02, 2016
- a community member
There was gang activity the years I attended. I hope for East that problem has gone away.

Rockford East High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 02, 2016
- a community member
Many teachers there just didn't care. Felt like I was passed over and passed on to the next grade without really learning.

Rockford East High School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a student
the best school best teachers best people..my freshman year went by like a flash...i miss it so much thoo.. i think i made like a lot of new good friends while going to east..


Rockford East High School 5

Posted February 19, 2011
- a student
I'm not gonna lie. I hated my freshman year but it wasn't because of the school it was mainly because I was very insecure and intisocial. This school was life changing for me. I met some amazing people and my teachers were great, well some. We can't all be perfect. Anyway, truth is, your environment is what you make it. So, if you wanna have "THE BEST YEARS OF YOUR LIFE" then start with yourself. Change your way of thinking, be more open minded and make things happen. If you never speak up, you will never be heard. I was a student at East (Class of 2010) and I can honestly tell you that I enjoyed it very much. :)

Rockford East High School 4

Posted February 19, 2011
- a parent
East has been a wonderful experience for my son. He's involved in sports and the student commission and loves his teachers. They all seem to truly care about how he does and when he's not putting forth his full effort, they let him and me know about it! He's made some great friends (students and teachers). I've seen such a positive impact since they went away from choice. My only hope now is that the District doesn't start messing with the honors and sports programs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rockford East High School
2929 Charles St, Rockford, IL  61108
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (815) 229-2100
Last modified Rockford East High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top