Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori Private Academy

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Rockford

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $77,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 3, 2013

Our child has been at Montessori Private Academy since 2007 & will be an 8th grader in the fall. He has been receiving an excellent academic education and continues to love learning, due to the hard work and dedication of the staff. The students learn responsibility, respect for others, and other skills needed in society. It is well-rounded learning. The middle school teacher has kept the students excited about learning by tapping into their creativity and imagination, sometimes combining arts with science, literature, or history. They become comfortable with public speaking by presenting their work to classmates and other classes, using PowerPoint or other software. They work hard, using and perfecting time management skills learned early on in their education to complete assignments. The new administrator has a strong Montessori background, with fresh ideas and good organizational skills. We find him to be a great asset to the school. By developing a strong sense of self, social skills, and receiving excellent guidance and academics, we feel that students are well prepared for what lies ahead in high school and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2013

Both of my children have been going to MPA for over 7 years now, and we feel that we have made the best investment in our children's future that we can by sending them here. We are so happy to have our kids come home each day from school and still be excited about what they have learned or accomplished. They are challenged academically but have been taught the skills and problem solving needed to meet and exceed these challenges. They have wonderful, caring, and patient teachers who truly want nothing but the best for them. Our children will continue their education here through the highest possible grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

I would not recommend this school. The quality of education has declined with the new administrator and the tuition has increased. It use to be a good, safe, enjoyable place for our kids but that is changing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2012

We have two children at MPA. They both started when they were two and are now five and eight. We are reminded by them each day during the summer how much they enjoy the learning experiences, the staff and the environment. They can t wait to go back in the Fall. We didn t know anything about a Montessori education when we were looking for schools, but are now big believers. Our children have benefited greatly from the multi-age classrooms and the opportunities to learn at their own pace. They love being able to focus on one topic or project for an extended period until they have mastered it. It s great preparation for the real world . The testing we ve done outside of school shows them to be well ahead of their peers in more traditional schools. Their staff has gotten stronger each year. The new principal has taken time to meet with us and we are big fans of his approach to communication with us. Parents looking for a safe, friendly, learning environment with great staff and a beautiful campus should consider this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2012

We currently have 2 children enrolled at MPA, one 3-year-old transitioning from the Young Child classroom into Early Childhood and one 6-year-old going from Early Childhood to Elementary I (1st grade). We have been thrilled with the quality of education they are receiving. They are enthusiastic about learning and I can see how the independence that is a focus there comes through at home now too. My son loves learning Spanish as well as science and geography. He is also eager to read and loves the math works. My daughter loves the variety of works available and is developing empathy for her peers. I can see how proud she is of her accomplishments and how eager she is to share what she has done at school and to help at home as well. We have been very pleased with the teachers and all of the support staff. We are big advocates for MPA and will continue to send our children there as long as we possibly can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2012

My son is in the Young Child program (for 2 & 3 year olds) at Montessori Private Academy. He absolutely loves the school and his teachers. In fact, he often asks to stay late to participate in the after care program. And as parents, we couldn't be more thrilled with the school's faculty and staff. The facility is new and clean and the classrooms have the most amazing, hands-on learning environments. We recently observed the Early Childhood classrooms (for 3 to 6 year olds)--where our son will be next year--it is amazing to watch the children work. They are excited, focused, and self-motivated. They work well independently and in groups. They are respectful and kind toward one another. My son has absolutely blossomed at Montessori Private Academy. There is nothing more rewarding than when our son says, I love school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2011

Montessori Private Academy is a great, intimate school in an excellent location. The staff members are kind, qualified, and make the school a fun place to learn. They go above and beyond to ensure students are learning and succeeding in their education. The school's environment is very inviting and warm. Students help one another and there is a "family" feel upon entering the school. The teachings of Maria Montessori are well in place here and the children are happy and engaged. This is a top-notch school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 17, 2011

My daughter started pre-school this fall at MPA. The difference I have seen in her is fantastic. Her manners have improved, she is asking more questions about the world and demonstrating that she is learning. Her school building is new and beautiful. The instructresses are very nice. They have a very active and involved parent community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2010

Extraordinary Staff and Programming. We are extremely pleased with the quality of education and compassionate teachers and staff. The focus on each child's needs as an individual as well as part of their larger classroom community fosters a type of learning that is overlooked in many educational settings. The caring staff and teachers are continuously developing their skills through continuing education and workshops. The care compassion shown to each child by all staff members - not just their own teachers, is incredible. Although this school follows authentic Montessori principles, we have been pleased to see the development of additional programming in sports, arts, technology, and music. Frequent field trips both in school and out - provide additional learning opportunities that excite our children. Our children love this school, their teachers and the beautiful building. We believe that the Montessori methods taught at this school will help lay the foundation for excellence in education in whatever path our children decide to follow. Our family could not ask for a better place for our children to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2010

Since building their new school, and changing administration, this school has gone from exemplary to mediocre at best. The school claims to be an "authentic Montessori school", and yet the staff is sorely lacking in Credentials and Montessori training. Classrooms are overcrowded, and lack the technical advances to compete with better schools. Programs like gym, art, music, and foreign language are considered "Specials", and are undersupported. The Administration does not support staff development, or provide continuing education for staff members. In my 7 year association with the school, I have had the displeasure of seeing the standards of educations greatly decline...In all good faith, I would not reccommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

This is an excellent School. To the reviewer suggesting that you go to Keith because Montessori asks for money to build a new school... You can expect to pay 2x's the tuition at Keith and be asked for money. Keith is a great school too. Every private school has to do fundraising. They are not supported by taxes like public schools and if their tuition covered all the expenses the tuition would be unaffordable to more people. You will find an excellent challenged bright students at Montessori and investment well worth their future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

MPA is an excellent learning environment. The program follows traditional Montessori philosophy, but also offers extra classes, like Spanish and a wonderful music program. The teachers are so awesome, the staff is wonderful and the students are all friends, which encourages the students teaching students aspect of the Montessori philosophy. Love that! As for the previous reviewer's comments about money... MPA is building a beautiful, custom, brand new school. I'm thrilled my child will be learning is such a beautiful environment, and have gladly donated my money because of that. MPA is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2009

I'm a teacher and i've toured almost every elementary school in Rockford, public and private. MPA has the most rigorous curriculum and the highest academic expectations. There is no 'worksheet teaching' here! The school creates self-motivated children who love learning....what better life skill could you ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

Money hungry. They are building a new school, so my 3 year old comes home with a backpak full of give us your money slips. The teachers are in on it two. pushing that we place my daughter fulltime, thats 5 days 8:30-3:30. Im a stay at home mom. My daughter is better off at home. We do part time for social reasons. But every time I see that teacher she pushes full time and a donation envelop. Take your kids to Keith Country Day, that where we are going next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

Very pleased with this school. Teachers and office is familiar with every student and thier individual needs. The classroom is neatly organized and structured. The staff is always willing to help in any situation. As for results, I feel my child is ahead of the game. Not only will my child be more academically advanced but will learn leadership skills as well as manners and responsibility for one self. I researched many other schools and found MPA to be the most suitable for my Pre-K child. However the price has become unaffordable to us and a few others as well. I think billing could be more clear. They are going through some changes right now.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 4%
Two or more races 15% 3%
Black 4% 18%
Hispanic 4% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Jeffrey Katz
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
  • Other Montessori

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8101 Sayer Road
Rockford, IL 61108
Phone: (815) 332-8101

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St Rita School
Rockford, IL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT