Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Alpine Academy

Private | PK-6 | 130 students

We are best known for high test scores.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Rockford

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $77,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2014

Wonderful ! Our daughter went 1-6th grade. She is ow in college she and her friends from Alpine Academy of Rockford go back and visit often - not many grade schools can say that. Excellent academic education - very well rounded with specials.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2010

Being from Europe my expectations for proper kids education is very high. Searching arround the Rockford area I am very pleased to find this hidden treasure. Teachers are great and go to the enormous distnace to actually teach the kids. Everyone in the office is so friendly. I could not reccomend better eduacational facility in Rockford! Thank you Alpine for doing such a good job! Michael Frelas, PhD Candidate
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

My daughter has attended Alpine Academy since Pre-K3 and she is now in second grade. The principal, teachers and other staff members are people who are compassionate about what they do. The students are polite and respectful. Alpine offers a great academic program. The faculty, parents and students are close-knit and work as a team to make Alpine the best it can be. Enrolling my daughter at Alpine Academy is the best decision I ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2010

Alpine Academy is a wonderful school... My sons are in preschool. The teachers are warm and caring and make learning fun. Good program, super stuff. We love it!!! Thank you Alpine Acadamy!!! NO BETTER SCHOOL IN ROCKFORD!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

My daughter and I are a part of the Alpine Academy 'family ' and have been for several years now. I can't say enough about it's wonderful principle, teachers, and staff. This school is a well hidden secret and worth exploring. Your child(ren) will receive the best education while feeling safe and secure in Alpine's loving environment . On a scale of 1-10, I would give Alpine Academy an eleven!! There's no better school in Rockford!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

My daughter attended this school. It is the best kept secret in Rockford. All the teachers are certified & dedicated to ensuring that your child receive the best education. Along with wonderful teachers, they didn't have any other 'hidden' fees when I registered my child. There specials include Spanish, library, physical education, art, music, & computers. The classroom teachers do not teach any of the specials. The specials are taught by qualified teachers. We are thrilled with how well our daughter did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Alpine Academy os a great school. Learning is a must because of great teaching. One of the best schools in Rockford. I have had 3 grandchildren go all the way through Alpine.


Posted June 25, 2009

My grandaughter goes here and is receiving a GREAT education. Small class size, involved families.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:00 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Robert W McVinnie
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)
Associations
  • ELEA
Fax number
  • (815) 227-8899

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5001 Forest View Avenue
Rockford, IL 61108
Website: Click here
Phone: (815) 227-8894

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Rolling Green
Rockford, IL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT