Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rolling Meadows High School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
District 214 is fantastic and RM is great. The school sometimes gets a bad rap from those who would rather have a all-white school like Prospect or Hersey, where the aggregate test scores are skewed higher with low latino populations. I am quite certain that if your child is smart they will excel at RM. The staff at RM is excellent with few bad teachers, and athletics are very competitive with ability for your son or daughter to make the team without having to get lost in a sea of rich travel kids Freshman year. The vibe and school spirit are on the rise at the school.

Rolling Meadows High School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is a freshman and is in the honors program - all honors classes (except one which is AP). As of now, she is hoping to major in engineering in college. The Wildstang robotics program is an excellent resource for students to see how an engineering team works together. The extra curricular activities offer a broad spectrum for varied interests of the students. The teachers are helpful and caring. For the area, the school is considered "small" and I think that is a plus. I also like the block scheduling.


Rolling Meadows High School 5

Posted December 26, 2012
- a student
Current student at RMHS and I love it. I really truly believe that success depends on the student - not the school the student attends. So when looked at among other high schools in the area (D214 & D211), RMHS usually gets frowned upon even taunted as "Rolling Ghettos." I can clearly assert that this is so so so false it makes me so made whenever I hear it. Yes, there is a high percentage of hispanics (30% to be exact) but I feel that has only opened my mind to a world of diversity and culture. At RMHS, we embrace our cultural diversity. With Italian Club, Spanish Club, Latinos Unidos, Indian Culture Club, AVID, and so much more I can personally attest that going to RMHS will provide a cultural background that no other Northwest suburb school can provide. As per the academics, I feel the new administration is trying so hard to increase test scores. (it's slowly working!) I am a super-high achieving student (haven't you noticed?) Our PSAE and ACT score as well as a HUGE push for AP programs are steadily increasing. At first, the new administrations policies caused shock and frustration among us students, but ever since we are doing so much better.

Rolling Meadows High School 4

Posted July 21, 2009
- a parent
I have a son who graduated from RMHS last year and is doing great at the University of Chicago. I felt that extra-curricular activities he participated in really helped in him being challenged. He has gone back there to visit his AP history teacher and his debate coach. My daughter is currently attending RMHS and she also loves it. I do believe that higher expectations and more challenging social studies and writing assignments would help in preparing students for college. Although I'm really glad my children have attended RM, I was disappointed when my daughter was assigned a 'how I spent my winter break' paper as a TDP freshman. This was a 3rd grade level assignment. Please raise the bar!

Rolling Meadows High School 5

Posted April 20, 2009
- a parent
My eldest son is a junior at RMHS. My son and us have been very happy with the quality & dedication of teachers, the interaction with principal and other members of the staff and the encouraging atmosphere at the school. The variety of subjects (AP) offered and the number of strong extra curricular activities is exceptional (e.g. debate, robotics club, etc).


Rolling Meadows High School 5

Posted September 10, 2008
- a student
I am a former student of Rolling Meadows and I can say with all honesty that I received 4 years of a quality education. I had only a few bad teachers, but the rest were beyond amazing. They made me enjoy what I was learning and made each student seem important. I am now in college and I feel like Rolling Meadows fully prepared me for this experience. A majority of the time, I actually feel like College is easier than high school. If you think your child can handle it I would definitely try to get them into the honors and AP classes. There are a lot of extracurricular activities to get involved in too. I loved Rolling Meadows and will never forget my years there!

Rolling Meadows High School 5

Posted July 07, 2008
- a community member
We have had two grand children go to rolling meadows and it truly is a fine school. The parents are supportive, teachers helpful we had sons at prospect and wheeling high school and feel all the 214 schools are in a class high above any other high schools

Rolling Meadows High School 3

Posted September 26, 2006
- a parent
I have found RMHS to be lacking in challenging classes. I don't feel like my son will be prepared for college. He rarely has homework, yet is able to maintain an A/B average. It seems like the curriculum is slow and the students have way too much class time and seminar time to complete assignments.


Rolling Meadows High School 3

Posted November 01, 2005
- a parent
If your child is a good student make sure they are in the honor programme. Limited AP classes. Zero tolerance for bullying is a good thing.

Rolling Meadows High School 5

Posted July 19, 2004
- a parent
Im very happy with Rolling Meadows block scheduling and the variety of extracurricular opportunities there are for the kids.

Nearby schools

Rolling Meadows High School
2901 Central Rd, Rolling Meadows, IL  60008
(847) 718-5600
Last modified Rolling Meadows High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top