Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Robert C Hill Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2014

This school is awesome. They took their time with my child to make sure he did well. Couple of teacher we have had been amazing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2014

This school is great! We have a very active PTO and have tons of events for all the kids and families to enjoy. I have 2 kids in this school and haven't had a teacher that we didn't love yet. I'm not sure where the ratings come from here, but I think RC Hill is a wonderful school and am proud to have my kids attend there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

This is my son 2ND year at RCHILL, he had Mrs Chambers last year, she is the best kindergarten teacher, she communicate well with parents, she always try her best to get the best out of her students. she just the best! :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

I now have my second child at RC Hill School. I have dealt with the previous principal and the current. The only "joke" I have seen at this school is how pathetic many of the parents are. The school is not your daycare provider, and the school should not be the one teaching the students what is right, what is wrong, and what is acceptable behavior. I wish I could be more involved with the classrooms. My older child is doing extremely well in middle school, and my younger child adores his teachers and the principal because I have taught them to be involved in things theat matter most. My childrens's education is a higher priority then many of the other parents. That is not a joke, that is sad. From a single parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2010

I beleive a hand full of the staff is racist, i'd you are looking to move in to the area and you are white, this is the place for you. And this scale doesn't allow you to post your comment without giving at least one star. That is the only reason in the one star given.


Posted January 7, 2010

I think this rating is skewed by the test results which are skewed by the gifted classes. The entire district sends their smartest kids there for challenge classes. I'm sure that would cause the increase from a 5 the other Romeoville schools have to this 5. It's sad b/c other elementary schools are Needing Improvement and AYP is poor. We have the choice to moving to higher rated schools and none of the 365u schools are doing good. I'm thinking of moving and taking a loss in this economy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2009

I have two children in school 1st and 5th grade. My only concern with the school is the over crowding of the classrooms, especially 1st grade when they need the most supervision. I have had a few problems with the languange of other students with my 5th grader, and I hope the school handles the situation. There are alot of absentee parents out there, who think the school is their babysitter, but that is no fault of the school, they do try to do their best with all situation, but can only do so much. Paula is a great principle, and most of the teachers are very good. But like any school there is always room for improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

R. C. Hill is a well behaved school. Espically the children. They are all independant children. The office has absolutly no problem. And they're just AWESOME!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2008

I agree that RC Hill is a great school. We have wonderful teachers who care and want to be there and we have the best principal around. Paula is outstanding, she never stops thinking of ways to make our school better and her attention to detail; she can tell you who each and every student is by name. I feel very lucky to have my children attend RC Hill! Thank you to the wonderful staff:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

This school is simply the very best. The administration is very supportive. Paula Bowling makes every effort to show her kindness to students. She sincerely cares about each and every one of the kids as if they were her own!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

If your child is gifted...it's too bad they go here! My daughter read at the 5th grade level (she was in 2nd grade) and was getting vocabulary words far below her level. I finally sold my house and moved out of the district. Thank God. Never got a whole lot of comminication from her teachers. And I am a teacher myself. Maybe all their money and energy goes to special ed...which to most people doesn't mean gifted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

I think Robert C. Hill is a great school. The teachers show that they care about each and every stundent. My favorite teacher is Mrs.Cambers. I believe all teachers should take notes from her teaching technics. I also think the paw tickets are a great way to motivate the students to do their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

My biggest complaint about the school are it's hours, from 905-310. It is hard to find a job that will work with those hours... so much for being the ones to drop your kid off at school.. You will most likely need before and after school care since it is only 6 hours long, LESS than the national avg. I had a problem with one of the teachers, but the principal and the new teacher were both very nice. The paw ticket program is very nice, but the school sends home a lot of junk.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

This is a great school! My daughter has attended K & 1st grades and we are planning to move but actually changed our plan on where to move so that she can stay in this school. I also have a 4 year old that will attend next year and we want her to go there as well. Teachers are very nice and do a good job as far as I am concerned and m y daughter loves them too! Thank you R.C. Hill for a wonderful experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2008

My oldest child attended 2nd-5th and was an honor roll student because the staff cares. Valley View school district, in my opinion, is fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2006

I have never seen such school spirit and support form the teachers all the way to the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2005

My child attended k-5. I did like the school overall, and had few problems with the teachers, most are great to work with. I was disappointed though in empty promises made by principal and assistant for programs that were never started, like homework coaches, and other items related to child IEP. The office staff is great, and the PTA seem to do quite a bit for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students38%
Female36%
Male40%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White42%
Low income37%
Not low income39%
Students with disabilities (IEP)19%
Students without disabilities41%
English language learners19%

Reading

All Students58%
Female61%
Male54%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Low income49%
Not low income78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)31%
Students without disabilities63%
English language learners19%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students47%
Female51%
Male43%
Black18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White64%
Low income42%
Not low income59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities51%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female62%
Male64%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Low income58%
Not low income74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)27%
Students without disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students81%
Female81%
Male81%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Low income78%
Not low income88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)46%
Students without disabilities85%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female61%
Male56%
Black50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Low income52%
Not low income71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)40%
Students without disabilities61%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students60%
Female67%
Male54%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Low income57%
Not low income67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value table growth scores from the state of Illinois.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 51%
Hispanic 36% 24%
Black 10% 18%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

616 Dalhart Avenue
Romeoville, IL 60446
Phone: (815) 886-4343

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT