Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
3-5
Public
Saint Charles, IL
Students enrolled: 446

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Richmond Intermediate School 5

Posted December 15, 2014
- a parent
My kids love both Davis and Richmond. I grew up in St Charles so it doesn't bother me that they attend a school with a diverse student base. All of the schools in St Charles provide a quality education regardless of these "ratings" and "state test scores". We are really happy with the teachers and principal. I know my kids will transition well into Thompson. It's a great neighborhood school.

Richmond Intermediate School 5

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
Richmond is an excellent school. We are really glad we stuck it out when the were making changes with Davis. Our kids are happy and are doing just as well as they would have if they were in any other school in town. Excellent teachers, committed parents and great leadership have made these changes work.


Richmond Intermediate School 5

Posted July 04, 2014
- a parent
Richmond had a rough start but thanks to the excellent staff and parent involvement it has really taken a turn. The scores will probably always rank a little lower than other elementary schools but the bottom line is that it's an excellent education. The diversity of this school can be seen as a negative because many of the students come in not knowing English but I consider if a positive. The real world is diverse and this is the closest you will get in a community that is primarily Caucasian. Just as the other review stated, it's the only elementary to offer a language in the curriculum which is one of the many reasons I send my children to this school.
1 person found this helpful

Richmond Intermediate School 5

Posted July 02, 2014
- a parent
The parent and teacher involvement in this school is incredible. The community has really thrown themselves at making sure this school succeeds. Our children have excelled at Richmond and have the added bonus of ipads and foreign language. We had some hesitation due to the non-english speaking students but this has been squashed. Everyone in my neighborhood attends this school and is backing it 100%. We all love Richmond!

Richmond Intermediate School 2

Posted March 03, 2014
- a parent
First off, some fantastic teachers. But the school is still finding its footing since the merger with Davis. Although referred to as a school with an enhanced educational environment, the school has seen a sharp drop in test scores in just one year, specifically math. The students have an extra 45 minutes in their day, the ability to take foreign language and ipads...and should be leading the district, but find themselves behind every other school in the district. And it has nothing to do with the makeup of students or esl students. The building is at capacity already and will be facing more issues when the growing class sizes move here from Davis. I do have students in the school and feel that keeping face over a controversial merger has taken president over the focus of education.


Richmond Intermediate School 5

Posted June 11, 2013
- a parent
Richmond is a great school just like all the other schools in St Charles. For anyone who reads this that is not from our community, the reason this school shows a low rating/scores is due to the higher number of non-english speaking students that attend this school. The education and teachers here are great. The students that speak english test just as high as the students at all the other local elementary schools. Unfortunately, the high number of students that do not have english as their primary language upon entering this school have dragged the scores down. There is a high sense of community, leadership and pride in this school. The commitment to helping the non-english speaking students is amazing. I am very happy that my children will have the added benefit of foreign language in their curriculum which none of the other elementary schools offer as well as a sense of diversity which is lacking in all the other local schools.
1 person found this helpful

Richmond Intermediate School 4

Posted December 27, 2012
- a community member
All of the information located on this website is dated. Richmond School has been reconfigured to serve 3-5th grade students. This was instituted in 2011. Younger children (k-2) attend Davis School. When the two schools were combined, the Principals were changed, The teaching staff changed and the demographics of the student population changed. Some of the programming is unique to District 303. You will want to gather information through another format. My star rating is reflective of the current ratings. I do not currently have a student attending this school.

Richmond Intermediate School 4

Posted November 28, 2010
- a parent
Richmond is a great school with a great staff and small class sizes. You can't say that about any of the other St. Charles elem. schools. If you are afraid of a diverse environment then this school is not for you. If you want your children to be surrounded by caring and highly qualified educators then your child would be lucky to attend Richmond.
1 person found this helpful


Richmond Intermediate School 4

Posted August 12, 2010
- a parent
I am very happy with this school and the teachers,they are very friendly,trying very hard to do the best,the students are filling comfortable with the teachers. The principal is like a friend to everyone,always listen and doing his best.

Richmond Intermediate School 4

Posted April 12, 2010
- a parent
Richmond Staff provide an excellent example of teaching at its best. They are dedicated, caring and always there to listen. The atmosphere in the school is one of friendship and fun, the smaller class sizes are an extra bonus. I couldn't be happier with the teaching that my daughter is receiving there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Richmond Intermediate School
300 South 12th Street, Saint Charles, IL  60174
(630) 377-4866
Last modified Richmond Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades 3-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Richmond Intermediate School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top