Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Thomas Dooley Elementary School 4

Posted June 11, 2013
- a parent
My kids attend the Dual Language/Violin program at Dooley. Both programs are a success. Teachers are great and supportive. Cons: Principal is hard to interact with and micromanages the staff. Neighborhood parents whose kids attend the English only program have animosity towards the Dual Language program which fills 2/3 of their school. Also, very low parent involvement in PTA. Even so, the pros still far outweigh the cons. The Dual Language Teachers are skilled, enthusiastic and very approachable.

Thomas Dooley Elementary School 5

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
We bought a house in district 54 just to send our two daughters to this school and we are glad we did. The dual-language program and Suzuki violin programs are both top notch. The week before starting kindergarten my daughters new teacher and the school principle visited our house to make sure she was ready and find out if we had any questions. Outstanding support, outstanding parent involvement, outstanding leadership equals first rate education. Be warned the taxes in this district are high but if you have children it is an investment that will pay dividends towards their future.


Thomas Dooley Elementary School 5

Posted August 11, 2011
- a parent
Awesome school. Can not believe that our public education still has the schools like this. We were very fortunate all 6 years here.

Thomas Dooley Elementary School 5

Posted April 06, 2011
- a parent
My kids have been attending this school for the past 8 years. It is wonderful. I wish that the Magnet program had not moved from Dooley. It was so much better when it was at Dooley. Parent involvement at Dooley is amazing. The staff are top notch. I feel very lucky.

Thomas Dooley Elementary School 5

Posted February 22, 2011
- a parent
I love this school. The staff is great. Very friendly and great with the kids. I had to move out of district due to financial problems, but will be moving back this year. I look forward to it. If your looking for a top notch school, then Dooley is it. Campanelli elementary is also a very good school.


Thomas Dooley Elementary School 4

Posted February 07, 2010
- a parent
Children in the Dual Language program at Dooley are immersed in learning English and Japanese, which can be a challenge at times, but the rewards are seen in the later grades. Since the change of principals, Dooley has taken a more effective direction in its dual language program. The Early Instrumental Music (EIM) violin program provides an adequate program for learning violin.

Thomas Dooley Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 20, 2009
- a parent
We have been to three other nationally recognized schools and find Dooley the best. The caring and academic atmosphere makes it the best environment for children.

Thomas Dooley Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Thomas Dooley Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2007
- a parent
It is an excellent school. Their Japanese bi-lingual class is very unique and fun. Full time Japanese teachers are native Japanese and they teach both Japanese and American program. They also have a violin class, which is probably one of the best in our community. Many families moved to the area only for this school.

Thomas Dooley Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 01, 2007
- a parent
Great school. Fantastic teachers. Very caring and flexible. My daughter enjoyed the classes for right from grade 1-3. We will miss this school, unfortunately we are moving.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thomas Dooley Elementary School
622 Norwood Lane, Schaumburg, IL  60193
(847) 357-6250
Last modified Thomas Dooley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thomas Dooley Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top