Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Schaumburg Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 1179 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Schaumburg

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $152,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,260.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

52 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 7, 2009

I think scs is a good school but i also think that is way to strict and that they rush thru the work and they excpect you to get everything even if you dont also the teachhers are very conservative and press there views on the children
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2009

Be very careful before putting your child here. Read the student handbook carefully. This is a very punitive and harsh environment. The leadership is vapid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

Both my 2 kids are in this school for 5 years now. I find this school's education standards are at par with my native country's standard. In other words, they have set a high standards for both education and discipline. I have read some reviews about 'too much emphasis on religion' by parents. Probably, while doing the home work on deciding where to send their kids for schooling, they missed the important piece of information. That is, Schaumburg CHRISTIAN school, run by a BAPTIST church. I would recommend this school anyone who want their children to be successful in education and be a good moral citizen
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2009

Great faculty and good alternative for a public school education with reasonable fees, but imposing christianity/bible to young non-christian minds is nothing but a tug of war of religion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2009

My children have been in SCS for about 5 years. They started from preschool. I am thankful to God that a school like this exists. It is a blessing to have world class education that is affordable in a caring and loving environment!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

I am very pleased with the education my children have recieved at SCS. While I may not completely agree with every aspect of the administration's beliefs, I can't understand others whining about it-especially since they chose to send their children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

My kid has been in this school for 3 years and I am planning to pull her out, This school has OK academics but my biggest consern is the emphasis on religion. They have a very very conservative point of view on it and to say the least it sometimes feels fanatic in nature.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

Both my children have attended SCS since K3 preschool - My oldest is in 8th and my son in 4th. The education and curriculum is the best in the area - the children are at least a year or two ahead of the public schools in education in the area. Though a bit on the conservative side, I HIGHLY recommend Schaumburg Christian. I feel if they would ease up a bit on the strictness of some of the rules this school in my eyes would score a 10+++.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2008

Fantastic education, overly conservative. Often students who do not attend Bethel Baptist Church, which runs the school, feel they are treated as second class citizens. Overall a pretty good school, definitely better than the public alternative.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2008

I have been attending SCS for 2 years going on 3. The education is far above the other high schools in the area. I came from a public school and it was a challenge for me my first year, but the teachers were there every step of the way to help me. The leadership of the teachers is amazing. I not only appreciate their leadership, but also their great Christian character. I love the great emphasis on living your Christianity. The preaching is always wonderful and Bible class is something i look forward to every Tuesday and Thursday. I LOVE SCS!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 14, 2008

Schaumburg Christian School is a great school. I highly recommend it. The values and the conservativeness are helpful tools for the students in the long run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

I always liked the curriculum of the school. But I did not like how conservitive the school was. It also has little extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2008

i went to SCS for nine years and graduated. I was very blessed to have gone to this school. The education was amazing. The close one on one contact with the teachers and student was great. It made learning easier and fun. The only thing i regret about this school is that the church (Bethal) made too many descisions on what was happening in the school. The english and literature program should be a little more liberal. Thanks for the good times ;)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2007

Its very nice school but the time for bible study is too long for younger kids. If its less, they will become more popluar
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

I feel it's best school academically. They should not be teaching Bible/religion so much. That way I am very much disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2006

Outstanding school. Education level is one year ahead than the best public schools. Could ease on bible and religious preaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

Schaumburg Christian School is one of the best schools in the nation! I'd probably rank it among the top two private schools in the nation. Their academic level is far above the norm. They have top of the line teachers that are very well educated themselves and have a great love for their students. Many extracurricular activities are available, especially for the high school students. SCS is well known in the state of Illinois and abroad for their high standard of music emphasis. The quality of music students that SCS produces is phenomenal. Many of the graduates go on to use their musical talent in various ways. The school also puts a premium on excelling in sports and doing your best in whatever you do. Parental involvement is strongly encouraged and teachers frequently communicate and visit with the families of their students.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted February 16, 2006

The program here is incredible any parent who is concerned for their child needs to place their kid in this top-notch program.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 13, 2006

My daugther joined SCS in preschool. She is now 6yrs old attending 1 grade. Julia reads chapters, have exceptional math skills,the after school care is the best in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2006

The quality of this school is top-notch. The teachers are well prepared and the music program is outstanding! The school has a great atmosphere which promotes learning and high achievement. The students are challenged daily from the Bible and the teachers show true love for their students. Public schools as well as other Christian schools need to get some tips from Schaumburg Christian. Excellent!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 46% 4%
White 29% 51%
Black 11% 18%
Hispanic 8% 24%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jim Toth
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 North Roselle Road
Schaumburg, IL 60194
Website: Click here
Phone: (847) 885-3230

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Hubert School
Hoffman Estates, IL


Fairview Elementary School
Hoffman Estates, IL




Lakeview Elementary School
Hoffman Estates, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT