Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Schaumburg Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 1179 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Schaumburg

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $152,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,260.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

52 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 13, 2006

good academics; much homework; high expectations of students; little heavy on the bible and conservative views.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2005

My 3 children have attended Schaumburg Christian for years and I am so pleased to have a godly school with high standards where they can be eduacated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2005

I am a grandparent, not a parent or guardian, but as an interested and involved relative, I feel equipped to speak of the excellent facility and staff of this school. Although it is very conservative in attitude (emphasis on Bible verses, wardrobe limitations such as skirts/dresses only for girls, etc.), Schaumburg Christian provided my granddaughter with a much-above-average education during the pre-school through fourth grade years she was there. It is state-of-the-art equipped.....a visit to the school during regular classes or to one of their student programs is impressive, indeed. Teachers seem genuinely fond of their students,and my granddaughter liked every one of her teachers. This year my granddaughter was transferred to a more alternative school in another city, and although I wished on many occasions that SCS was slightly more liberal, seeing what is offered in private school education elsewhere, for the same tuition, makes SCS look all the better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2005

It's a very good private school, high quality teachers and excellent management and leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

Schaumburg Christian is a wonderful school- teachers are caring, constantly going the extra mile for the students. Truly a blessing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2005

As a student at SCS for a few years, I enjoyed the diversity of the student body, the excellent teaching and curriculum, a busy phys. ed. program, and a fine arts program that got everyone involved. The teaching staff especially stands out in my mind. Each teacher focused on excellence. They were funny and personal, yet held control of the classroom. I remember a science teacher in particular displaying a stubby, sputtering candle on the first day of Basic Science, and then promptly eating it. All of the class just sat there in stunned silence for a few moments, and then burst out laughing. It had been a raw potato. The teaching staff really is excellent. I thank SCS for a fun seven years!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 5, 2005

Excellent academic. Poor extracurricular activity. High level christian parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2005

SCS has very strong academics in a solid Christian atmosphere. I am very pleased with the quality of education my daughter is recieving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2004

Overall, I am very pleased with SCS.The teachers are very caring and patient.The standards are very high. The children appear to be happy and balanced. However,the amount of homework is a bit much at times. A more diversified teaching staff would be ideal, more reflective of the student body. I highly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2004

My son has been a student at SCS since 2000 and it has been the best possible school and situation for us as a Christian family trying to raise our child in a loving, Christian environment. The staff is loving, helpful. This is truley a superb school & staff on every level. I give this school my highest rating in all catagories. I plan to send my child to SCS for the duration of his education. The quality of education and standards is above reproch. Mr. Thaxton & staff - well done, keep up the excellent work. Thank you and may God bless you all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2003

Great school! My son has been attending since preschool and he is now in the 3rd grade. He is well ahead of other children his age that attend public schools. Schaumburg Christian has high expectations for the children but they are resonable expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2003

The school is great. All 3 of my children have scored high on the testing. The kids love there teachers that they have every year. My kids are 2 years ahead of the public school by us. Just love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 46% 4%
White 29% 51%
Black 11% 18%
Hispanic 8% 24%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jim Toth
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 North Roselle Road
Schaumburg, IL 60194
Website: Click here
Phone: (847) 885-3230

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Hubert School
Hoffman Estates, IL


Fairview Elementary School
Hoffman Estates, IL




Lakeview Elementary School
Hoffman Estates, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT