Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shiloh Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 322 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 17, 2014

My son loved his teachers here and learned so much. I dealt with administration a couple times over the years and they were a pleasure. I wish we still lived in the area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2014

My child only attended the grade school for less than half the year in 4th grade, but as a 5th grader continues to get bussed to the grade school for afterschool latchkey services. My complaint is not so much with the grade school itself as it is with the afterschool program. The teachers seem like they don't really enjoy being around the children. There is a lot of yelling and a lot of time outs, for the group as a whole, not just on an individual basis. The program director does not keep track of payments, unless she notices you are behind. Then your child will be made to sit out and all the other kids know your child is sitting out due to late payment. The teacher will question the children regarding payment, as if they know what is going on with payments. I even received an E-mail from the program director questioning me as to "what my thoughts were behind these checks I sent?" The principal however is very nice and does try to intervene to resolve issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2013

We relocated from out of state and my children transitioned perfectly. One of the reasons that we selected Shiloh Elementary is it's location relative to Scott AFB. We are not a military family but felt a school who is well versed with students coming and going would be a plus. At the start of the school year Shiloh Elementary held an orientation specifically for new families to the area. We found the orientation to be welcoming, beneficial and informative. The level of attention from the staff to ensure a smooth transition is evident and it shows in our children's performance. The staff is professional, friendly, well qualified and pay close attention to the safety and security of our children. We are very pleased with the school and highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

The teachers were great. The principal was good. The problem with the school were some of the rules that keep getting stricter. They have a very, very strict no touch policy. Both of my kids were in the office as a result. We are military. We have been in 6 different schools in 8 years. Not once had any of my kids ever been in the office before! They have the strictest volunteer policies I have seen out of any school we have attended. My kids did love the school and miss it. I could see where new kids might have a tough time fitting in since it is a small town school and most of those kids have gone to school together their whole lives. Over all we were satisfied but I don't know if we would go back to the same school if we moved back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2012

We love Shiloh! The school has a small town feel that you just don't find anymore. They celebrate holidays, say the pledge of allegiance, and encourage parents to get involved as much as possible. The teachers and staff are very friendly and caring. They have afterschool homework help and tutoring available for all students. There are also many extra curricular activites available, as well as before/after school care for parents that work long hours. We have felt very fortunate to be in the Shiloh school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

I am rating this school a 3 mainly because the principal Mrs. Becker is a fantastic principal. Mrs. Beckers demeanor makes it very evident that she truly cares about her children. I just can't say enough good things about this principal - other than that she would make a great superintendent. Some of the other staff in District 85 could take some lessons from her. Don't get me wrong the staff at District 85 are courteous for the most part.I would recommend a few of the teachers read 'Teaching Outside the Box' by LouAnne Johnson. IMHO District 85 gets good test scores because that is what it focuses on 'the test scores'. Focus is not on the child, and some teachers use discipline to the point of distraction. Some teachers should also be advised that there is no such thing as a 'casual' remark to a student/child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

I am saddened that my son will not be attending here next year. He had Mrs. Wehrle for Kindergarten this year and she was awesome! The pricipal went above and beyond for me the last few years as did the KG teachers. I appreciate all you have done for my son and wish you all the best in the furture.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

Sadly, our experience with upper grade levels at Shiloh Elementary was the worst in our entire military career! Compared to schools in states at the bottom of the national list where I had to supplement their homework to keep them up to par, those were a breeze. Here we could not get answers from teachers who were admittedly intimidated by administration and reluctant to give parents advice to help average students. We have moved around the country and still keep in touch with former teachers with whom we had excellent communication regarding our children's educational strides and needs. This is the first time we felt the lack of transparency in an effort to appear to be an excellent school. Be glad your leaving after kinder! However, the middle school is excellent! Teachers are motivated and give feedback about our children when we ask about them. Principal, you'll be missed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2007

Very good school. Decent class size. Young, ambitious teachers. Administration could be a little better at communicating
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2006

I agree. This school has been great for my daughter. Mrs. Manley was also her KG teacher and she was excellent. The overall curriculum is exceptional. The school is great for a small community. We went through a personal tragedy during the school year and they jumped right in to help my daughter adjust! I would definitely recommend this school to others for a great elementary experience. It's a small community and people look out for each other because many are military families. We'll be moving soon and I hope we find a school that will be comparable to Shiloh, if not better! Good luck in your choices and this is one I definitely recommend! Overall parental involvement was good. EC activities for elementary is just enough!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2006

This school is WONDERFUL. I am active duty and the hardest part of my move is the fact that I have to take my son out of this school. His kindergarten teacher, Mrs. Malney is GREAT!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female60%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income40%
Not low income77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female90%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income70%
Not low income80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female82%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Low income33%
Not low income83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students66%
Female78%
Male55%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Low income27%
Not low income81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students89%
Female96%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Low income80%
Not low income93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value table growth scores from the state of Illinois.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 51%
Black 11% 18%
Hispanic 5% 24%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Rachel Rosier

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

125 Diamond Court
Shiloh, IL 62269
Phone: (618) 632-7434

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Scott Elementary School
Scott Air Force Base, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT