Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Family School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Shorewood

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $212,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2014

I have been sending my children here for 3 years now and love it! Great staff and leadership. Don't hesitate to send your kids to Holy Family if you are considering it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

I am new to the area and want the best for my kids, as does every parent. My family has been welcomed gratuitously into the Holy Family school and church. My son loves the school and all the teachers! I never felt Mrs. Cristi or her staff were anything but involved and focus, not only on money but, a strong Catholic education. Reminds me so much of when I was young and attended catholic grade school. Very old school values! Love all the moms and dads from the school who I have volunteered with and just chatted with during drop off and pick up! Made so many new friendships!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2014

Great School! I know there are a lot of people complaining that "all they want is our money..." but what private, Catholic school is different? Tuition dollars and fundraising are what keeps the school open! The school has top-notch teachers who are dedicated to the success of each student. I could not be happier at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2014

I love the atmosphere here at Holy Family! The teachers are very kind and personable and there are plenty of volunteer opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

Any school out there is better than this one. No one posted a comment from 2008 till now. Guess the new principal seen she had some bad reviews so she called in her favors from her hand picked staff to write a few good one. The people writing the good reviews must live in la la land. Wake up people...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

I recently pulled my child from the public school and put them in Holy Family and I must say that this was a great decision!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

I would absolutely not recommend this school to anyone. I can spend countless hours talking about how awful this school is but I will keep it as short as I can. I speak for my own family and many other families who have enrolled their children. We have sacrificed our time and money to give our kids proper education and to pay the premium for religious studies and an accelerated school that went below public school standards. This school with its new pastor and new principal are both completely clueless about the bottom line! It is the blind.....leading the blind with the bottom line of just making money short term! Several parents including myself gave this school a couple years to get it together and I am truly sad its gone nowhere but downhill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

If you want your child to receive a good education DO NOT SEND THEM TO HOLY FAMILY. All this school cares about is money...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2013

I would send my kids here again in a heartbeat. I don't get why some people would not give the teachers 5 stars because they do an outstanding job with a lot of students. The student to teacher ratio at Holy Family is still better than most public schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

School lacks leadership. Principal goal, to be the BEST. You cannot be the best without proper management of school and employees. To many students per class The Principal hand picks the volunteers what kind of leadership is that?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

My son start Holy Family in 2006/2007 school year he previous went to Plainfield dist 202. He enter 2nd grade at Holy Family and the staff and teachers have been wonderful. I was worried his first day of school but He came out of school very happy loved his new school. the catholic community imbraced him and my daughter who was in pre-school. The cirrculm is about 6 months ahead of the public school, but his teacher took the time to help catch him up. wonderful teachers understanding and patient.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 51%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Hispanic 2% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 18%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Melissa Crisci
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Joliet
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 Brook Forest Avenue
Shorewood, IL 60404
Phone: (815) 725-8149

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Troy Shorewood School
Shorewood, IL


Troy Middle School
Plainfield, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT